Tuberville To Talk to Auburn Football Group

Auburn, Ala.--The Auburn Chapter of the National Football Foundation will hold its 2002 membership drive meetings on Thursday on the Auburn University campus.

Current members and prospective members are invited to attend a talk on the 2002 Auburn football Tigers from head coach Tommy Tuberville at 4:45 p.m. at the Rane room in the Auburn Football Complex.

Following the coach's briefing on the Tigers, attendees are invited to watch the football team participate in practice until 6:30 p.m. At 6:45 p.m. there will be a barbecue dinner at the Auburn Letterman's Lounge on the east side of Jordan-Hare Stadium. The fee for the dinner is $10. You can call The Auburn Network at (334) 844-0545 for more information or chapter president Trey Johnston at 887-7007.

The Auburn chapter led the campaign for former Auburn great Terry Beasley to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. That will happen in New York City this December. The organization also provides scholarships to outstanding student-athletes in the Auburn area and has plans to support other former Auburn greats deserving of hall of fame status.

Beasley was an All-American for the Tigers as a junior in 1970 and a senior in 1971 on teams that featured Heisman Trophy winning quarterback, Pat Sullivan. A three-year starter for the Tigers when freshmen were not eligible for varsity competition, he caught 143 passes for 2,508 yards and 29 touchdowns. Beasley led the SEC in scoring with 72 points as a junior and also led the league in receptions with 52 for 1,051 yards.

His jersey number, 88, is one of three that have been retired by AU. The others belong to Heisman winners Sullivan and Bo Jackson. Beasley was eighth in the Heisman balloting as a senior. Beasley is still No. 1 on the all-time Auburn receiving list for career yardage (2,507), touchdown receptions (29) and 100-yard receiving games (12). He played for the NFL's San Francisco '49ers after being selected in the first round of the draft, but his pro career was cut short by a series of concussions and other injuries.

Joining Beasley for the induction ceremonies will be 12 other players. The group includes: running back George "Sonny" Franck (1969-71) from Minnesota; running back Cosmo Iacavazzi (1962-64) of Princeton; wide receiver John Jefferson (1974-77) of Arizona State; safety Ronnie Lott (1977-80) of Southern Cal; quarterback Dan Marino (1979-82) of Pitt; running back Napoleon McCallum of Navy (1983-85); offensive guard Reggie McKenzie (1969-71) of Michigan; defensive back Randy Rhino (1972-74) of Georgia Tech; offensive tackle Jerry Sisemore (1970-72) of Texas; linebacker Gary Spani of Kansas State (1974-77); defensive tackle Reggie White (1980-83) of Tennessee; and tight end Kellen Winslow (1976-78) of Missouri.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories