AU Coaches Headed to Hall of Fame

One current and one former Auburn coach will be inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame next year.

Birmingham, Ala.--Auburn men's and women's swimming coach David Marsh and former Auburn men's basketball coach Sonny Smith will be inducted into the Alabama Sports of Hall of Fame in 2007.

Marsh, who has led Auburn to six NCAA men's swimming titles including four in a row, is a nine-time national coach of the year. His Auburn women's swimming teams have won four NCAA times and like the men they are the current defending champions.

Marsh has won more NCAA titles than any coach in the history of the state. An All-American swimmer for the Tigers, he is the only coach in history to lead his men's and women's teams to national titles in the same year for two consecutive seasons.

Marsh received the National Collegiate and Scholastic Swim Trophy two times and is the first person to win it more than once. A two-time U.S. Olympic assistant coach, he also has been head coach of the U.S. team at the world swimming championships.

Sonny Smith

Smith was named SEC Coach of the Year in 1984 and 1989. He led the Tigers to their first SEC Tournament title in 1985 and coached the first team in school history to make the NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 and the only team to reach the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight. His 1984 squad was the first Auburn men's basketball team to receive an NCAA Tournament bid.

Marsh will be leaving AU following the current season season to take a post coaching Olympic level swimmers in Charlotte, N.C.

Smith, who currently works as a television basketball analyst, is the only coach in Auburn men's basketball history to lead the Tigers to three straight 20-win seasons.

In 1984 Smith's star forward, Charles Barkley, became the school's first SEC Player of the Year. Smith is the third winningest coach for the Tigers with 173 victories.

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories