Preview 2007 - Conference Coaching Experience

Which coaches in each conference have the most experience? Who's the elder statesman of each league? Going into the season, here are the records for every coach, categorized by conference.


Coaching Experience - Conference

Preview 2007

2007 Coaching Experience ... Overall

Who's the Dean of the League? Which coaches have been around the longest, and which ones have spent the most time as a college football head man? Going into the 2007 season, here's a quick look at which coaches have the most tenure in each league. Experience is ranked by overall years of service first, followed up by the number of years with the same team.

Florida State: Bobby Bowden, 32nd year: 293-81-4, 42nd year overall: 366-113-4
Virginia Tech: Frank Beamer, 21st year: 156-82-2, 27th year overall: 198-105-4
Wake Forest: Jim Grobe, 7th year: 37-35, 13th year overall: 70-68-1
Clemson: Tommy Bowden, 9th year: 60-38, 11th year overall: 78-42
NC State: Tom O’Brien, 1st year, 11th year overall: 74-45
North Carolina: Butch Davis, 1st year, 7th year overall: 51-20
Maryland: Ralph Friedgen, 7th year: 50-24
Virginia: Al Groh, 7th year: 42-33
Georgia Tech: Chan Gailey, 6th year: 37-27
Duke: Ted Roof, 4th year: 5-34
Boston College: Jeff Jagodzinski, 1st year
Miami: Randy Shannon, 1st year

Cincinnati: Brian Kelly: 1st full year: 1-0, 17th year overall: 138-51-2
South Florida: Jim Leavitt, 11th year: 70-43
Connecticut: Randy Edsall, 9th year: 41-51
West Virginia: Rich Rodriguez, 7th year: 50-24
Rutgers: Greg Schiano, 7th year: 30-41
Louisville: Steve Kragthorpe, 1st year, 5th year overall: 29-22
Pitt: Dave Wannstedt, 4th year: 11-12
Syracuse: Greg Robinson, 3rd year: 5-18

Penn State: Joe Paterno, 42nd year: 363-121-3
Ohio State: Jim Tressel, 7th year: 62-14, 22nd year overall: 197-71-2
Purdue: Joe Tiller, 11th year: 75-49, 17th year: 114-79-1
Michigan: Lloyd Carr: 13th year: 113-36
Iowa: Kirk Ferentz, 9th year: 55-43, 12th year overall: 67-64
Indiana: Terry Hoeppner, 3rd year: 9-14, 9th year overall: 57-39
Illinois: Ron Zook, 3rd year: 4-19, 6th year overall: 27-33
Michigan State: Mark Dantonio, 1st year, 4th year overall: 18-17
Wisconsin: Bret Bielema, 2nd year: 12-1
Northwestern: Pat Fitzgerald, 2nd year: 4-8
Minnesota: Tim Brewster, 1st year

BIG 12
Texas: Mack Brown, 10th year: 93-22, 24th year overall: 179-96-1
Texas A&M: Dennis Franchione, 5th year: 25-22, 18th year overall: 100-78
Missouri: Gary Pinkel, 7th year: 37-35, 17th year overall: 110-72-3
Oklahoma: Bob Stoops, 9th year: 86-19
Texas Tech: Mike Leach, 8th year: 56-33
Kansas: Mark Mangino, 7th year: 25-35
Baylor: Guy Morriss, 5th year: 15-31, 7th year overall: 24-45
Colorado: Dan Hawkins, 2nd year: 2-10, 7th year overall: 55-21
Nebraska: Bill Callahan, 4th year: 22-15
Oklahoma State: Mike Gundy, 3rd year: 11-13
Kansas State: Ron Prince, 2nd year: 7-6
Iowa State: Gene Chizik, 1st year

UTEP: Mike Price, 4th year: 21-15, 26th year overall: 150-137
Southern Miss: Jeff Bower, 17th year: 112-77-1
Tulane: Bob Toledo, 1st year, 14th year overall: 78-62
Memphis: Tommy West, 7th year: 34-38, 13th year overall: 69-73
UCF: George O’Leary, 4th year: 12-24, 11th year overall: 64-57
SMU: Phil Bennett, 6th year: 17-41
East Carolina: Skip Holtz, 3rd year: 12-12, 8th year overall: 46-35
Houston: Art Briles, 5th year: 26-24
Rice: David Bailiff, 1st year, 4th year overall: 21-15
Marshall: Mark Snyder, 3rd year: 9-14
Tulsa: Todd Graham, 1st year, 2nd year overall: 7-6
UAB: Neil Callaway, 1st year

Navy: Paul Johnson, 6th year: 37-35, 11th year overall: 99-35
Notre Dame: Charlie Weis, 3rd year: 19-6
Army: Stan Brock, 1st year

Northern Illinois: Joe Novak, 12th year: 61-66
Ohio: Frank Solich, 3rd year: 13-12, 9th year overall: 71-31
Western Michigan: Bill Cubit: 3rd year: 15-9, 8th year overall: 49-27-1
Toledo: Tom Amstutz, 7th year: 50-25
Bowling Green: Gregg Brandon, 5th year: 30-19
Ball State: Brady Hoke, 5th year: 15-31
Kent State: Doug Martin, 4th year: 12-22
Eastern Michigan: Jeff Genyk, 4th year: 9-25
Akron: J.D. Brookhart, 3rd year: 18-18
Miami University: Shane Montgomery, 3rd year: 9-14
Buffalo: Turner Gill, 2nd year: 2-10
Temple: Al Golden, 2nd year: 1-11
Central Michigan: Butch Jones, 1st year

Wyoming: Joe Glenn, 5th year: 21-26, 23rd year overall: 179-85-1
Colorado State: Sonny Lubick, 15th year: 105-65, 19th year overall: 126-84
New Mexico: Rocky Long, 10th year: 52-57
TCU: Gary Patterson, 8th year: 54-20
BYU: Bronco Mendenhall, 3rd year: 17-8
Utah: Kyle Whittingham, 3rd year: 15-10
UNLV: Mike Sanford, 3rd year: 4-19
San Diego State: Chuck Long, 2nd year: 3-9
Air Force: Troy Calhoun, 1st year

PAC 10
Arizona State: Dennis Erickson, 1st year, 19th year overall: 148-65-1
Oregon: Mike Bellotti, 13th year: 97-48, 18th year overall: 118-73-2
Washington: Tyrone Willingham, 3rd year: 7-16, 13th year overall: 72-68-1
USC: Pete Carroll, 7th year: 65-12
Oregon State: Mike Riley, 7th year: 38-34
California: Jeff Tedford, 6th year overall: 43-20
UCLA: Karl Dorrell, 5th year: 29-21
Washington State: Bill Doba, 5th year: 25-22
Arizona: Mike Stoops, 4th year: 12-24
Stanford: Jim Harbaugh, 1st year, 4th year overall: 29-6

Kentucky: Rich Brooks, 5th year: 17-30, 23rd year overall: 108-139-4
South Carolina: Steve Spurrier, 3rd year: 15-10, 18th year: 157-50-2
Tennessee: Phillip Fulmer, 16th year: 137-41
Arkansas: Houston Nutt, 10th year: 67-44, 15th year overall: 103-66
Vanderbilt: Bobby Johnson, 6th year: 15-43, 14th year overall: 75-79
Auburn: Tommy Tuberville, 9th year: 71-29, 13th year overall: 96-49
Alabama: Nick Saban, 1st year, 12th year overall: 91-42-1
Georgia: Mark Richt, 7th year: 61-17
LSU: Les Miles, 3rd year: 22-4; 7th year overall: 60-25
Florida: Urban Meyer, 3rd year: 22-4, 7th year overall: 61-12
Mississippi State: Sylvester Croom, 4th year: 9-25
Ole Miss: Ed Orgeron, 3rd year: 7-16

Florida Atlantic: Howard Schnellenberger, 7th year: 33-37, 23rd year overall: 133-111-3
Troy: Larry Blakeney, 17th year: 128-64-1
UL Monroe: Charlie Weatherbie, 5th year: 15-31, 15th year overall: 60-95
Arkansas State: Steve Roberts, 14th year: 75-67-1
UL Lafayette: Rickey Bustle, 6th year: 23-35
Middle Tennessee: Rick Stockstill, 2nd year: 7-6
Florida International: Mario Cristobal, 1st year
North Texas: Todd Dodge, 1st year

San Jose State: Dick Tomey, 3rd year: 12-12, 27th year overall: 170-122-7
Nevada: Chris Ault, 23rd year: 185-78-1
New Mexico State: Hal Mumme, 3rd year: 4-20, 17th year overall: 101-84-1
Fresno State: Pat Hill, 11th year: 76-51
Hawaii: June Jones, 9th year: 64-40
Utah State: Brent Guy, 3rd year: 4-19
Boise State: Chris Petersen, 2nd year: 13-0
Idaho: Robb Akey, 1st year
Louisiana Tech: Derek Dooley, 1st year

2007 Coaching Experience ... Overall


Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories