Bonner, Smalley Named to All-SEC Teams

Birmingham, Ala.--Junior DeWanna Bonner has been named first team All-SEC by the league's women's coaches while her Auburn teammate, Alli Smalley, has been named to the SEC All-Freshman team.

Bonner, a 6-4 guard/forward from Fairfield High School, is the SEC's top rebounder with 9.9 per game. She is also number two in scoring with 18.1 points per contest.

Bonner also was a first team All-SEC selection last season since All-American Mae Ola Bolton was a back-to-back pick in 1986 and 1987.

Auburn's leading scorer in 15 of the 28 contests she has played in and has notched 13 double-doubles in that span. Bonner also finds herself in the top 10 in the SEC in field goal percentage, free throw percentage, blocks, offensive rebounds and defensive rebounds.

This is Bonner's second straight first team All-SEC selection. She becomes Auburn's first back-to-back first team selection since Mae Ola Bolton earned the honor in 1986 and 1987. Bonner is 11th all-time at Auburn in scoring with 1,381 points and is 12th in rebounding with 725 boards.

Bonner ranks second in career free throws made with 355 and is third on the season free throws made list with 141.

"DeWanna continues to improve her game and she is a difference maker," Auburn coach Nell Fortner said. "I am happy to see her receive the honor two years in a row as she is very deserving. We look for her to continue to be a threat on both ends of the court as we begin postseason play this week."

Alli Smalley

Smalley, who was a standout last season at Arab High School, is averaging 10.8 points per game, 2.9 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game. She opened the season as a shooting guard, but has spent much of the second half of the season at point guard after Whitney Boddie, the starting point guard, became academically ineligible.

"Alli has been a great addition to our team," Fortner says. "She came into a tough situation taking over the point guard position, but has handled it well and has done a great job for us. I am proud that she has been recognized for her efforts. I look forward to watching her develop over the next three years."

Below is a complete list of the postseason SEC award recipients.

First Team All-SEC

DeWanna Bonner, Auburn

Quianna Chaney, LSU

Marshae Dotson, Florida

Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee

Tasha Humphrey, Georgia

Candace Parker, Tennessee

Christina Wirth, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Demetress Adams, South Carolina

Shannon Bobbitt, Tennessee

Sarah Elliott, Kentucky

Shawn Goff, Ole Miss

Ashley Houts, Georgia

Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky

Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt

Erica White, LSU

SEC All-Freshman Team

Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky

Mary Kathryn Govero, Mississippi State

Angela Puleo, Georgia

Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt

Alli Smalley, Auburn

Amber Smith, Kentucky

Hannah Tuomi, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team

Demetress Adams, South Carolina Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee

Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt

Brittney Vaughn, Arkansas

Coach of the Year: Van Chancellor, LSU

Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, LSU

6th Woman of the Year: Jessica Mooney, Vanderbilt and Allison Hightower, LSU

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chelsea Chowning, Kentucky

Game Of My Life Auburn

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories