Auburn's Hastrup Honored by SEC

Birmingham, Ala.--Auburn swimmer Kristen Hastrup has been named a winner of the 2007-2008 Boyd H. McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

Southeastern Conference Commissioner Mike Slive made the announcement on Sunday. Hastrup will be honored at the SEC's award banquet on May 29th in Destin, Fla., and will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

Hastrup, an All-American swimmer, is an academic All-American with a 4.0 grade point average in biomedical sciences. She is a two-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and has earned Auburn University Academic Top Tiger honors three times. She earned first-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America honors and is a three time CSCAA Academic All-American.

Hastrup is a three-time All-American and a member of three SEC Championship teams and two NCAA championship squads. She was the 200 butterfly champion at the 2007 SEC Championships and also holds the Auburn record in that event.

She won the Stanley Louis Sugar Memorial Award as an outstanding scholar-athlete at Auburn.

Hastrup is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, the Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society, the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society, the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and is an associate member of Alpha Epsilon Delta. She is a member of Who's Who in America's Colleges and Universities and on the Auburn Dean's List. She received the Scholar of Promise Award from the National Society of Collegiate Scholars for volunteer work in 2005 and the Jewel Award, issued by the Boys2Men/Girls2Women organization and recognizing volunteer efforts.

Hastrup has also volunteered with the local Boys and Girls Club, Salvation Army and swam in the fundraiser, Laps for CF, raising money for research and treatment for cystic fibrosis.

Joseph Sykora, a golfer for the University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa, also received a scholarship from a committee of SEC faculty athletic representatives.

"The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest honor a student-athlete can receive in the Southeastern Conference," Slive said. "Kristen and Joseph have displayed dedication and commitment to success in all phases of their lives that have made them excellent selections for the McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award. The SEC and AT&T are extremely proud to honor these two student-athletes for their accomplishments."

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories