Equestrian Team Wins National Title

On Saturday in Texas, the Auburn Tigers defeated Texas A&M at the championship round.

Waco, Texas--Auburn defeated Texas A&M 5-2 to win the Hunt Seat competition at the 2008 Varsity Equestrian National Championships on Saturday.

The Tigers, who won the overall national title in 2006, earned their first Hunt Seat title to make Coach Greg Williams a happy man.

"Our Hunt Seat team has been the strongest team at nationals," Williams said. "The girls did a phenomenal job. It is so fun to win a discipline title like Hunt Seat where the trophy is named after one of your former assistant coaches, Herb Schneider. We are so proud to be bringing a national championship back to Auburn."

Auburn finished third in the overall competition, which was won by Georgia with Texas A&M taking second. Oklahoma State was fourth and Kansas State fifth.

Auburn won equitation over fences 2-1 defeating Texas A&M with AU's Jessica Braswell outscoring Lindsay Smith 162-146 and AU's Ali Loprete defeating Katie Henion 166-162. Auburn's Dottie Grubb and Texas A&M's Erin Ivy tied with 157 points apiece. A&M's Kristi Waldal outscored AU's Anna Schierholz 165-161.

Auburn won equitation on the flat 3-1 vs. the Aggies. Auburn winners include Chelsea Anheuser defeating Ashlie Soderstrom 144-125, Katie Breedlove over Lindsey Lawrence 143-133 and Coburn Park outscoring Brittany Dodson 152-144. Texas A&M's Christina Matz edged Auburn's Ali Loprete 155-154.

Members of the Hunt Seat team, on the front row, pose with their national championship trophy.

Georgia took third in the hunt seat competition and Oklahoma State was fourth. TCU won the western competition and was followed by Georgia, Kansas State and Oklahoma State.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories