AU Picked to Win SEC West

The Tigers also lead all SEC teams in preseason all-conference team selections.

Hoover, Ala.--Auburn is picked to win the SEC West and Florida is the choice to be the overall league champion in voting at the 2008 SEC Football Media Days.

The Tigers are the clear favorite to win the West with LSU number two, Alabama third, Mississippi State fourth, Ole Miss fifth and Arkansas last.

In the SEC East, Georgia is picked to finish second behind the Gators with Tennessee third, South Carolina fourth, Kentucky fifth and Vanderbilt is picked to finish in the basement.

Nine Auburn players have been named to All-SEC teams led by junior defensive tackle Sen'Derrick Marks and sophomore punter Ryan Shoemaker, who are first team selections.

Offensive linemen Tyronne Green, a senior, and sophomore Lee Ziemba are second team picks.

Tyronne Green is a returning starter at guard.

On defense, junior linebacker Tray Blackmon, junior end Antonio Coleman and junior cornerback Jerraud Powers are second team selections.

Sophomore Wes Byrum is a second team All-SEC pick.

Auburn has the most All-SEC picks with nine followed by LSU with eight. Alabama, Florida, Georgia and South Carolina each have five players selected to the teams. Florida has the most first-team picks with five followed by LSU and Tennessee with four apiece.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories