AU Hoops Schedule Finally Announced

Auburn, Ala.--Auburn hoops fans who were wondering when the Tigers would finally announce their 2008-2009 men's basketball schedule got that answer on Monday.

The Tigers play an exhibition game at home on Nov. 7th vs. Morehouse before opening the regular season on Nov. 14th at home vs. Missouri State.

Jeff Lebo's team will face nine games against opponents that played in the 2008 NCAA Tournament. That group includes Tennessee, Xavier, Kentucky, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State (twice), Arkansas (twice) and Georgia. The Tigers also will play five contests against teams in the 2008 NIT--Florida, Dayton, Ole Miss (twice) and Alabama State.

"We have some very good non-conference games, and we're going back to Xavier," said Lebo, who saw his team get crushed 80-57 by the Musketeers on Jan. 6th last season.

"Xavier was probably one of the best teams we played all of last year," Lebo said. "We're going to Chicago to play against Dayton, who is very, very good, and Northern Iowa who is also very good.

"We are also going to play at one of the ACC schools in Virginia. George Washington is coming to Auburn this year and that is a good game, and we play our season opener at home against an always tough Missouri State team."

Lebo returns four starters from last year's team. That group includes seniors Quantez Robertson, Korvotney Barber and Rasheem Barrett along with junior DeWayne Reed.

This year's SEC tournament moves from Atlanta to Tamapa and is scheduled for March 12-15th at the St. Pete Times Forum.

Season tickets will go on sale Oct. 1 for the 19 home games. Single-game adult tickets are $10 for non-conference games and $15 for SEC games except for the Alabama game, which are $20.

Two mini-SEC ticket packages for $50 each will be available Oct. 1 with the orange pack consisting of the Alabama, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State and Arkansas games and the blue pack consisting of the Florida, Tennessee, Ole Miss and LSU games.


Nov. 7 Morehouse (exh.), 6 pm

Nov. 14 Missouri State, 7 pm

Nov. 19 (1) Mercer, 7 pm

Nov. 22 George Washington, 1 pm

Nov. 25 (1) Bethune-Cookman, 7 pm

Nov. 28 (2) Dayton, 5 pm

Nov. 29 (2) Northern Iowa, 4:30 pm

Dec. 3 at Xavier (CBSCS), 7 pm

Dec. 6 Louisiana-Monroe, 1 pm

Dec. 17 Tuskegee, 7 pm

Dec. 20 at Virginia (FSN), 3 pm

Dec. 22 Alabama State, 7 pm

Dec. 29 Alabama A&M, 7 pm

Dec. 31 Southeastern Louisiana, 3 pm

Jan. 3 Tulane (DH), 4:30 pm

Jan. 10 at South Carolina, TBA

Jan. 14 Florida (Raycom), 7 pm

Jan. 17 Alabama, 1 pm

Jan. 21 at Kentucky (Raycom), 8 pm

Jan. 24 at Arkansas (Raycom), Noon

Jan. 27 Texas-Pan American, 7 pm

Jan. 31 Vanderbilt, 1 pm

Feb. 4 at Ole Miss, 7 pm

Feb. 7 Tennessee (Raycom), Noon

Feb. 11 Arkansas, 7 pm

Feb. 14 Mississippi State (FSN), 4 pm

Feb. 18 at Georgia, 6:30 pm

Feb. 21 at LSU, 7 pm

Feb. 25 Ole Miss, 7 pm

Feb. 28 at Mississippi State (FSN), 5 pm

Mar. 3 at Alabama (ESPN), 8 pm

Mar. 7 LSU, TBA

Mar. 12-15 (3) SEC Tournament (Raycom/CBS), TBA

(1) Chicago Invitational (Auburn, AL)

(2) Chicago Invitational (Hoffman Estates, IL)

(3) Tampa, FL (St. Pete Times Forum)

* All Times Central

(DH) Doubleheader with the Auburn Women

2008 Inside the Auburn Tigers Football Guide

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories