Three Tigers Make All-SEC Freshman Team

Birmingham, Ala.--Three Auburn players have been selected to the Southeastern Conference Coaches' All-Freshman Team.

Punter Clinton Durst, cornerback Neiko Thorpe and linebacker Spencer Pybus made the squad that was announced on Thursday.

Georgia had the most selections with six players chosen, including wide receiver A.J. Green, who was named SEC Freshman of the Year.

Durst, Pybus, Vanderbilt linebacker Chris Marve and Georgia center Ben Jones were the unanimous selections to the team.

Durst, a walk-on from Destin, Fla., who had never played football prior to this season, averaged 42.1 yards on 70 punts after winning the starting job over returning starter, Ryan Shoemaker.

Neiko Thorpe returns an interception vs. Arkansas.

Thorpe, who is from Tucker, Ga., High School, intercepted two passes and returned them for 101 yards. He also deflected four passes and finished the season with 20 solos and nine assists.

Spencer Pybus played linebacker and on special teams this season.

Pybus, who is from Northview High in Dothan, finished the season with seven solo tackles, seven assists and he recovered a fumble.

Earlier this week, the coaches named junior defensive end Antonio Coleman to the All-SEC while another Tiger, defensive tackle Sen'Derrick Marks, was a second team all-league selection.

TE Brandon Barden Vanderbilt 6-5 245 Lincolnton, Ga.

OL Justin Anderson Georgia 6-5 338 Ocilla, Ga.

OL Cordy Glenn Georgia 6-5 331 Riverdale, Ga.

OL John Michael Boswell Alabama 6-5 300 Tuscaloosa, Ala.

OL Grant Cook Arkansas 6-6 320 Jonesboro, Ark.

OL Kyle Fischer Vanderbilt 6-6 300 Columbia, S.C.

OL Quentin Saulsberry Miss. State 6-3 293 Independence, Miss.

C #Ben Jones Georgia 6-3 304 Centerville, Ala.

WR A.J. Green Georgia 6-4 200 Summerville, S.C.

WR Julio Jones Alabama 6-4 210 Foley, Ala.

QB Randall Cobb Kentucky 5-11 185 Alcoa, Tenn.

RB Mark Ingram Alabama 5-10 215 Flint, Mich.

RB Jeffery Demps Florida 5-8 176 Winter Garden, Fla.

RB Chris Rainey Florida 5-9 185 Lakeland, Fla.


DL Jake Bequette Arkansas 6-5 265 Little Rock, Ark.

DL T.J. Greenstone Vanderbilt 6-3 278 Lawrenceville, Ga.

DL *Zach Stadther Arkansas 6-1 285 N. Little Rock, Ark.

DL DeAngelo Tyson Georgia 6-2 306 Statesboro, Ga.

LB Chris Marve Vanderbilt 6-0 225 Memphis, Tenn.

LB Dont'a Hightower Alabama 6-4 250 Lewisburg, Tenn.

LB Jerry Franklin Arkansas 6-2 229 Marion, Ark.

LB Spencer Pybus Auburn 6-0 207 Dothan, Ala.

LB Daryl Vereen Tennessee 6-0 200 Charlotte, N.C.

DB Janoris Jenkins Florida 5-10 185 Pahokee, Fla.

DB Will Hill Florida 6-2 203 West Orange, N.J. DB Charles Mitchell Miss. State 5-11 196 Clarksdale, Miss.

DB Neiko Thorpe Auburn 6-2 171 Tucker, Ga.


PK Blair Walsh Georgia 5-10 183 Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

P Clinton Durst Auburn 6-1 190 Destin, Fla.

RS Dennis Johnson Arkansas 5-7 195 Texarkana, Ark.

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Game of My Life Auburn Book By Mark Murphy

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories