New Arena a Host Site for NCAA Tournament

Auburn will be the host site for two rounds of the 2011 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament.

Auburn, Ala.--Auburn's new arena will be a site for the first and second rounds of the 2011 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament the NCAA announced on Thursday.

The 2011 games will be the first time the tournament has been played in Auburn since 1993 and it will be the first time the Tigers have been a host site under the current format.

The new arena, which is scheduled to open next summer, will be the site of first round games on either Saturday, March 19th, 2001 or March 21st and second round games on the 20th or 22nd.

Auburn coach Nell Fortner said it was a priority to get the event to Auburn. "I am very excited and proud of the hard work our administration put forth in securing this bid," she said. "We will have a great new arena to showcase and we have a community that is supportive of women's basketball. It will be a tremendous showcase of women's basketball."

A view of the arena is shown from Jordan-Hare Stadium.

"The new Auburn Arena will be one of the finest basketball facilities in the nation and will be an ideal venue for the tournament," said Auburn athletics director Jay Jacobs. "It is an honor for Auburn to host this event and is an outstanding opportunity to showcase the new arena before a nationally televised audience."

The 64-team field will feature games at 16 regional sites. Others include: Albuquerque, N.M. (University of New Mexico,The Pit/Bob King Court); Charlottesville, Va. (University of Virginia, John Paul Jones Arena); Cincinnati, Ohio (Xavier University, Cintas Center); College Park, Md. (University of Maryland, Comcast Center); Columbus, Ohio (Ohio State University, St. John Arena); Durham, N.C. (Duke University, Cameron Indoor Stadium); Knoxville, Tenn. (University of Tennessee, Thompson-Boling Arena); Salt Lake City, Utah (University of Utah, John M. Huntsman Center); Spokane, Wash. (Gonzaga University, McCarthey Athletic Center); Shreveport, La. (Louisiana Tech University, CenturyTel Center); Stanford, Calif. (Stanford University, Maples Pavilion); Storrs, Conn. (University of Connecticut, Harry A. Gampel Pavilion); University Park, Penn. (Pennsylvania State University, Bryce Jordan Center); Waco, Texas (Baylor University, Ferrell Center); and Wichita, Kan. (Wichita State University, INTRUST Bank Arena).

The regional sites in 2011 are Dayton, Ohio (University of Dayton Arena), Spokane, Wash. (Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena), Dallas, Tex., (American Airlines Center) and Philadelphia, Pa. (Liacouras Center). The Final Four will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind. on April 3rd and 5th.

Fortner's team, the defending SEC champions, posted a 30-4 mark last season and advanced to the second round of NCAA play.

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories