SEC Honors AU Track Team Members

Birmingham, Ala.--Auburn junior Sheniqua Ferguson was named SEC Female Runner of the Year and Auburn's Maya Pressley was named SEC Freshman Field Athlete of the Year.

Ferguson, who won the sprint double taking the 100 and 200 meters at the SEC Track and Field Championships, was also on the winning 4x100 relay. She won the SEC Commissioner's Trophy as the top point scorer at the conference meet.

Ferguson won the 100 in 11.19 seconds, the fourth fastest time in AU women's track history.

Ferguson joins Kerron Stewart, who won the title in 2006 and 2007, and Juliet Campbell, who was honored in 1993, as Auburn women athletes to be named SEC Runner of the Year.

Auburn coach Ralph Spry said that Ferguson is a talented runner who should be able to make a strong show at the nationals next month in Eugene, Ore.

Pressley was the only freshman woman to win an individual event at the SEC Outdoor Championships in Knoxville, Tenn. where she took the high jump title with a height of 5-10 3/4. Shelly-Ann Gallimore, who was named SEC Freshman of the Year in 2000, is the only other AU female to win the award.

Other Auburn athletes earning first team All-SEC honors include Joanna Atkins (400/400 relay), Nivea Smith (400 relay) and Shaquela Williams (400 relay), Ben Cheruiyot (5000/10,000) and Felix Kiboiywo (1500m).

Holly Knight (10,000), Marcus Rowland (100) and Jean-Pierre Weerts (10,000) were second-team honorees, and Pressley and Tyler Kennedy (javelin) were named to the All-Freshman team.

The Tigers will next compete at the SEC East Regional beginning Thursday in Greensboro, N.C.

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine Only

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories