Ball State Hands Out Football Awards

Ball State handed out the 2007 addition of their post season awards in a ceremony held at the Horizon Convention Center in Muncie, IN.

Nate Davis (Bellaire, Ohio/Bellaire H.S.), a sophomore quarterback on the Ball State University football team, was named the recipient of the 2007 John Magnabosco Award, which goes to the Cardinals' most valuable player. He received the award, which is voted on by the players, at the team's banquet Sunday at the Horizon Convention Center in downtown Muncie.

The Magnabosco Award is named in honor of Ball State's head football coach from 1935-52. Magnabosco is the winningest football coach in Ball State history with 68 victories.

Davis, a 2007 All-Mid-American Conference Second-Team selection, started all 12 games for the Cardinals and set new Ball State single-season records with 3,376 passing yards, 429 pass attempts, 245 pass completions and 27 touchdown passes. He had five games of 300 or more yards passing, and threw for a career-high 422 yards at Nebraska. Still in his second season, Davis ranks third at Ball State for career passing yards with 5,351 and owns the school record with 45 career TD passes.

Michael Switzer (Indianapolis, Ind./Lawrence North H.S.), a true freshman offensive lineman, received the John Hodge Award as Ball State's most outstanding freshman. He started all 12 games and was part of an offensive line that protected Davis during his record-setting season. Switzer also helped block for a Ball State offense that tallied 5,180 yards in total offense, including over 1,700 rushing yards.

The Hodge Award is given in the memory of the 1974 Cardinal Varsity Club Chairman who died in 1977. The CVC is an organization of benefactors to Ball State's intercollegiate athletics program.

Dan Dunford (Naples, Fla./Naples H.S.), a senior wide receiver, received the Mark Hays Inspiration Award. Dunford tallied 11 catches for 128 yards and an 11.6 yards-per-catch average, while playing in all 12 games.

Given in the memory of the late son of Kermit and Mary Ellen Hays, the award is given to the person who demonstrates the greatest ability to motivate and inspire his teammates.

The 2007 Ball State Football Academic Award was given to Alex Moore (Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore H.S.), a senior linebacker who played in 12 games and owns a 3.80 cumulative grade-point average as a social studies major. Moore was one of three recipients of the Academic Award last season.

Chris Miller (Libertyville, Ill./Carmel H.S.), a junior punter for the Cardinals, received the Bill Reynolds Special Teams Award. Miller ranks third in the nation in punting with a 45.8 average. He became only the sixth Ball State football player ever named to an All-America First Team when he was named to the American Football Coaches Association All-America First Team this year.

The special teams award is named in memory of Reynolds, who spent 31 years as a volunteer in the Ball State athletics department with an emphasis on the football program prior to his death in the summer of 2000.

Justin Penland (Fort Wayne, Ind./Garrett H.S.) and Andrew Puthoff (St. Henry, Ohio/St. Henry H.S.) were named recipients of the Bill Meitzler Scout Team Players of the Year Award. Penland, a fifth-year senior offensive lineman, appeared in only two games in his four seasons, while Puthoff, a true freshman defensive lineman, redshirted in 2007 for the Cardinals.

Three seniors -- Eddie Burk (St. Louis, Mo./Hazelwood Central H.S.), Mike Dorulla (Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso H.S.) and Jacob Jordan (Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral H.S.) -- were each recipients of the Ray Louthen Senior Contribution Award. This award is given in honor of Ball State's former football coach and athletics director for outstanding contributions to the team on and off the field.

Derrick Henry (Columbus, Ohio/Worthington Kilbourne H.S.), a true freshman cornerback, was given the Elite 11 Champion Award, which is based on a point system for outstanding special teams play throughout the season.

Also honored at the banquet were the three team captains for the 2007 season -- Chris Allen (Dayton, Ohio/Wayne H.S.), Cortlan Booker (West Lafayette, Ind./West Lafayette H.S.) and Dan Gerberry (Austintown, Ohio/Austintown Fitch H.S.). Ball State finished the regular season with a 7-5 overall record and will face Rutgers of the Big East Conference in the 2008 International Bowl in Toronto, Canada, Jan. 5.

Ball State Insider Top Stories