Pangos Top 20 All-Star Game

CYPRESS, Calif. – There was no official MVP trophy passed out at the Pangos All-American Camp Top 20 all-star game, but Jawann McClellan was in the mix.

Pangos All-American Camp, Day Three


White 83, Blue 73: Jawann McClellan had been hot pretty much since he stepped off the plane from Texas. In Sunday's game, he just got hotter. The Arizona-bound shooting guard led the way for his team with 15 points, including a 3-for-5 effort from downtown. One of the makes had to come from 25-feet out.

At the half, the White stars led 34-29. Their starting five of Kyle Lowry, Justin Cerasoli, McClellan, Ty Morrison and Mohamed Tangara played well together and were in control for most of the game. Lowry had 14 points and 3 steals and kept the engine running smoothly for Coach Rick Isaacs' all-stars.

Dion Dowell of the Blue stars drilled a trio of 3-pointers in the second half to get his team within striking distance, but then McClellan answered the run himself.

The Blue team was led by Gordon Watt who seriously upped his personal stock with 12 points and a great weekend effort. His dunk over Cerasoli in the game was about as big time an athletic play as we've seen anyone make this summer. Swift continued his dominating post play with an 8-point, 3 block effort.

GAME NOTES – Three members of the White all-star team could not play. Dorell Wright, Theo Davis and Brian Harvey were unable to participate. Lorenzo Mata was selected to the game but injured himself in action on Friday. Curtis Allen, Clifford Clinksdale and Rico Tucker – all players selected to the Top 40 game – participated in their absence. … Like all camp games, the all-star game was played with a 20-minute running clock. …

Top 20 All-Star Game Selections: Blue: Jason Horton (2004), Christian Polk (2006), Gabriel Pruitt (2004), Arron Afflalo (2004), Joe Darger (2005), Dion Dowell (2004), Gordon Watt (2004), Rashad Austin (2005), Aaron Agnew (2004), Robert Swift (2004). White: Kyle Lowry (2004), Justin Cerasoli (2004), Brian Harvey (2005), Taylor King (2007), Jawann McClellan (2004), Dorell Wright (2004 post grad), Ty Morrison (2004), Jamal Boykin (2005), Theo Davis (2005), Mohamed Tangara (2004), Lorenzo Mata (2004).

Scout Hoops Top Stories