Naismith watch list released

The Naismith Foundation doesn't host an annual game for top high school players, but the esteemed organization does crown a national player of the year.

The Foundation has released its 10-player watch list heading into the holidays, which technically could include players from all classes but typically focuses on seniors. Naismith will announce its winner later this season, and as you'd expect there's significant overlap between the organization and the most nationally celebrated players.

What's most interesting is that the Watch List includes nine of's top 10 players. Obviously, the Naismith voters (full disclosure: I am one) largely agree with the rankings here of the top seniors, and for that reason don't be surprised ultimately if the winner proves to be our No. 1 as well: Jahlil Okafor.

The only member of Scout's top 10 not make the list was No. 10 Justise Winslow, as instead Kevon Looney (No. 14) is on the squad. Otherwise, it's a clean sweep.

Here's the full list:

No. 1 Jahlil Okafor
No. 2 Myles Turner
No. 3 Emmanuel Mudiay
No. 4 Tyus Jones
No. 5 Cliff Alexander
No. 6 Kelly Oubre
No. 7 Stanley Johnson
No. 8 Trey Lyles
No. 9 Justin Jackson
No. 14 Kevon Looney

Scout Hoops Top Stories