Felton Wins Naismith Award

One of the first postseason high school awards was handed out this week. The Naismith National High School Player of the Year was awarded to Raymond Felton of Latta, S.C.

Felton Takes Home Big Honor

Raymond Felton led small town Latta, S.C., to another state title this season. The 6-2 Felton averaged 31 points, 8 assists and 5 steals. He scored 45 points in the state championship game. He did just about everything one can do in a high school career.

On Tuesday, he won the Naismith High School Player of the Year award, following in the footsteps of Shane Battier, Al Harrington, Donnell Harvey and Gerald Wallace, the past four winners of the award.

The 2002 finalists were Carmelo Anthony, Chris Bosh, LeBron James and Shavlik Randolph. James was the only underclassman on the list and an underclassman has never won the award.

Scout Hoops Top Stories