Oden, Spiece Win Again At Big Time

LAS VEGAS – The showcase game everyone wanted to see materialized at the Big Time. Greg Oden, the best player in 2006 against O.J. Mayo, the top dog in his class. Oden and the Spiece Indy Heat rallied late to take home the trophy.

Greg Oden dunked his way to 18 points, 13 rebounds and 9 blocks and the Spiece Indy Heat captured its second consecutive Big Time championship by defeating the D-I Greyhounds 73-67.

The teams were dead even at 33 at the half and the Greyhounds actually pulled to a lead late in half. Then Daequan Cook, who had been struggling with his shot all day, stepped up and drove the lane for a bucket and was fouled. Spiece went up by 3. On the next possession, Eric Gordon's 3-pointer basically extinguished the Greyhounds hopes.

A very physical game was punctuated with Oden's fierce dunks inside. The Greyhounds ran a host of bodies at Oden and their top 3 post players combined for 15 fouls. Still, the nation's top prospect dunked what he could, took his medicine and went to the line. After struggling at the stripe for a good portion of the tournament, Oden made his last two throws when they counted.

Bill Walker had some amazing drives and actually challenged Oden on a few occasions, he would finish with 16. O.J. Mayo had been struggling with his jumpshot during most of the event but he shot 46% from the field in the title game, including 4-for-11 from downtown.

Leon Freeman was named the MVP of the "B" Division as he scored 29 points to lead the AFE Wizards past the Houston Jr. Hardballers in the championship. … Greg Oden took home MVP honors in the "Open" division. …

Scout Hoops Top Stories