Carolina Challenge Preview

The state of North Carolina's talent will be on display at the inaugural Carolina Challenge March 24 at Cary Academy. The one-day, invitation-only event features the top young players from the mountains to the coast.

On Saturday, March 24th, 80 of North Carolina's most talented underclassmen will come together under one roof and participate in the first ever "Dave Telep's Carolina Challenge." From junior stud Ty Walker to freshmen sensation Jarell Eddie, this one of a kind event will showcase the best-of-the-best in the talent rich state of North Carolina.

The Carolina Challenge, which will take place at Cary Academy on the outskirts of Raleigh, is setup for the college prospects to not only enjoy a day of intense basketball competition, but to also create a sense of urgency in the classroom and off the court.

"We think the Carolina Challenge accomplishes a few things," Telep said. "From a talent standpoint, much of the state's 2008, 2009 and 2010 classes will be on display. Secondly, it'll emphasize the importance of making yourself an attractive prospect -- on and off the court -- to colleges."

Telep, the camp director, is a voting member for the McDonald's All-American game and national recruiting director for, the nation's leading basketball recruiting authority. He's assembled an all-star cast to help make the camp experience a great one for the invitees.

Former North Carolina State legend Chris Corchiani, who is one of three male NCAA basketball players with more than 1000 career assists, will lead the campers in a pair of skill sessions. While the event coordinator, Denny Kuiper, a former high school and college coach, will also be on hand to lend his expertise.

The theme for the camp is "Are You Recruitable?" and Telep will spend time talking to the players about academics and what it takes to prepare yourself for the college experience.

True to the camp format, this event will provide observers with a number of highly anticipated match ups to keep an eye on. Each camper will participate equal minutes in three games.

With a number of high-major big men set to attend, the match up of the best 2008 big men is among the most anticipated. The MVP of the 4-A state championship, Ty Walker, will be in attendance and will go head-to-head with heavily recruited insiders Victor Davila and Romanian 7-footer Catalin Baciu.

But a number of other story lines are likely to develop as well.

North Carolina's highly hyped freshmen class will get a chance to prove themselves against older players. Top freshmen who will be in attendance are Jarell Eddie, C.J. Leslie and Tashawn Mabry. They'll face challenges from under the radar standouts like Jay Canty, Reggie Bullock and Anthony Thomas, among others.

The sophomore class is led by standouts David Chadwick, Akeem Richmond, Earnest Ross and Mason Plumlee, but there are sure to be a few surprise performances and a 2009 sleeper is likely to step up in the lime light.

North Carolina's 2008 class is much deeper than originally thought. Walker, Davila, J.T. Thompson and Baciu are already receiving high-major scholarships. Guys like Reggie Johnson, Damier Pitts, Andre Cornelius and Ken Gabriel are trying to pry loose those big time offers from the college coaches.

The camp is open to the public and admission is free. The first game tips off at 9:30 a.m. and the day concludes at 6:30 p.m.


Garrius Adams 2009 Catalin Baciu 2008 Montel Baines 2010 Julius Brooks 2009 Jarrick Brown 2010 Reggie Bullock 2010 Chasen Campbell 2009 Jay Canty 2010 Will Carpenter 2009 David Chadwick 2009 Emanuel Chapman 2010 Carter Cook 2008 Andre Cornelius 2008 Robert Crisp 2010 Seth Curry 2008 Victor Davila 2008 Ted Eby 2008 Jarell Eddie 2010 Jonathan Ellington 2008 Eladio Espinosa 2008 Tevin Friday 2010 Ken Gabriel 2008 Kyle Gaillard 2009 Dee Giger 2009 Mike Grace 2009 Willis Hall 2009 C.J. Harris 2009 Petey Haulsey 2008 Donovan Ingram 2008 Lakeem Jackson 2008 Nick Jefferson 2008 Justin Johnson 2008 Reggie Johnson 2008 Kip Kelley 2008 Ryan Kelly 2009 Nelson Kirksey 2008 C.J. Leslie 2010 Cameron Lovelace 2008 Tashawn Mabry 2010 Andre Marhold 2009 Tyler Mavity 2010 Eric Mayo 2009 Anthony McClenny 2008 Hunter McClintock 2008 Tyler McDaniels 2008 Earl McLaurin 2010 Lateef McMullan 2008 Maurice Nash 2010 Danny Niemann 2008 Stan Okoye 2009 David Pellom 2008 Damier Pitts 2008 Miles Plumlee 2008 Mason Plumlee 2009 Kevin Powell 2009 Damarcus Quinerly 2009 Corey Raley 2010 Dexter Randolph 2008 Adam Raye 2008 Robby Reid 2008 Jonathan Rice 2010 Chris Richardson 2009 Akeem Richmond 2009 Bryan Roberts 2008 Denzel Robinson 2010 Earnest Ross 2009 Alonzo Sharpe 2009 Eric Simpson 2009 Blake Smith 2008 Tavares Speaks 2008 Damian Steadman 2010 J.T. Terrell 2010 Anthony Thomas 2010 Corey Thompson 2009 J.T. Thompson 2008 Ty Walker 2008 John Wall 2009 Justin Watts 2008 Marcus Wells 2009 Marcus Wright 2008

Scout Hoops Top Stories