Media tabs Kentucky to win SEC

Big Blue is the slam-dunk choice of the media to win the SEC in 2014-15. Check out how the rest of the league is projected to finish as well as preseason picks for first- and second-team All-SEC players.

CHARLOTTE – The media has spoken, and they agree with the rest of the free world that Kentucky will be far and away the Southeastern Conference's best team in 2014-15.

Announced at the SEC Tipoff on Wednesday, John Calipari's Wildcats are the pick to the win the league, receiving all 20 first-place votes submitted.

Following the Wildcats, in the eyes of the media, are Florida, Arkansas, LSU and Georgia to round out the top five.

The Gators ran the table a season ago in the SEC en route to the conference regular-season championship while the other three teams are coming runs to the NIT.

Here's the full preseason media poll:

1. Kentucky
2. Florida
3. Arkansas
4. LSU
5. Georgia
6. Ole Miss
7. Missouri
8. Auburn
9. Texas A&M
10. Alabama
11. Vanderbilt
12. South Carolina
13. Tennessee
14. Mississippi State

Also named on Wednesday were preseason first- and second-team All-SEC units. It will come as no surprise that Kentucky Wildcats peppered the two groups of five.


G Jarvis Summers - Ole Miss
G Aaron Harrison - Kentucky (selected Player of the Year)
G Michael Frazier II - Florida
F Jordan Mickey - LSU
F Bobby Portis - Arkansas


G Andrew Harrison - Kentucky
G Charles Mann - Georgia
F Alex Poythress (pictured above) - Kentucky
F Karl-Anthony Towns - Kentucky
F Willie Cauley-Stein - Kentucky


Check out the video below from of Calipari's time at the podium in Charlotte.

Scout CBK Top Stories