Broncos Win WAC Cross Country Title

This was a sweet victory. Going against the powerful and experienced 5-time champion Aggies from Utah State, Boise State's young team emerged with the WAC men's cross country championship!

Boise State unseated five-time defending champion Utah State today to capture the Western Athletic Conference men's cross country championship in Moscow, Idaho.

"We are excited about winning the first-ever WAC cross country title," exclaimed head track and field and cross country coach J.W. Hardy. "The guys had a fantastic day and Coach (Brad) Wick (distance and cross country coach) did a great job preparing them."

The WAC coaches and officials named Wick 2010 Cross Country Coach of the Year. The Boise State women did well also, finishing fourth today over the 5-kilometer course. Boise State's Emma Bates finished third individually and was honored as the WAC Freshman of the Year and made the All-WAC team as well.

The Bronco men scored 57 points while Utah State finished a disappointing third with 67 points as New Mexico State edged the Aggies as well with 66 points. Fresno State was fourth (119 points), followed by Idaho (136 points), San Jose State (189) and Louisiana Tech (195).

Senior Sawyer Bosch paced the Broncos with a fourth-place finish (24:43.55) over the 8-k course. Bosch was named to the All-WAC team for the second time in his career; it was Bosch's fourth All-WAC honor overall. Freshmen Allan Schroeder and Drew O'donoghue-McDonald weren't intimidated at all, finishing eighth (25:16.80) and ninth (25:17.08) respectively. Sophomore Jeff Howard was 14th today with a time of 25:18.46. Schroeder, O-donoghue-McDonald and Howard all earned Second Team all-conference. Senior Brad Bogdan (25:46.83) took 20th place while Brian Pierre (25:49.12) was 23rd and Scott Foley 24th (25:49.43).

Host Idaho won the women's championship with 48 points with Utah State finishing second with 69 points. New Mexico State was third with 75 points, Fresno State was fifth (129), Nevada finishes sixth with 140 points, Hawai'i took seventh (182), San Jose State was eighth (226) and Louisiana Tech had 286 points.

Freshman Alyssa Boucher was 12th with a time of 18:11.41 and was recognized on the All-WAC Second Team. Fellow freshman Tessa Murray (19th with a time of 18:21.39) and Kate Jette (27th in 18:38.10) were next for the Lady Broncos. Senior Carly Gerard (28th at 18:38.18), Sarah Bisterfeldt (39th at 19:02.72) and Erin McLaughlin (40th with a time of 19:03.22) finished out the scoring.

Fresno State's Olivier Collin won the men's title (24:34.21), also earning the men's WAC Freshman of the Year honor. For the women, Courtney Schultz of New Mexico State captured the title (17:37.24).

The Broncos continue their 2010 season on Nov. 13 at the 2010 NCAA West Region Championships held in Springfield, Oregon.

Congratulations to the WAC Men's Cross Country Champions!

Bronco Country Top Stories