Emma Bates Wins National Championship!

Emma Bates of Boise State has been gradually getting better in the last few years, to the point of getting runner-up at the NCAA Cross Country Championships last fall. Tonight, she beat them all in the 10,000 meters.

Congratulations to Boise State's one-woman wrecking crew, Emma Bates, who captured the national championship in the 10,000 meters tonight at the NCAA Track & Field Championships in Eugene, Oregon. Bates' time of 32:32.35 was the second-fastest in meet history, and the fastest since 1988. She beat Elinor Kirk of UAB by 64/100th's of a second.

It was an amazing finish in Eugene. With one lap to go, the trio of Bates, Juliet Bottorff of Duke, and Kirk paced the field. Bates made her move with 300 yards to go. Kirk responded and moved to Bates' shoulder, but Bottorff fell back. Much like the famous Affirmed-Alydar horse race, it was Bates and Kirk, stride-for-stride heading out of the final turn, setting the stage for a thrilling final 100.

Kirk passed Bates but couldn't put her away. With 25 meters remaining, Bates called upon one last burst of speed, and that sent her past Kirk for the win.

With the victory, Bates now has won eight All-America honors including cross country, indoor track and field and outdoor track and field.

Bates' national title is Boise State's 12th, and the sixth in the last eleven years. The Bronco track & field team has captured three in the last six years. The complete list of Boise State national titles can be found at the bottom of this article.

Bates will run in the 5,000 meters Saturday night--she has already earned All-American honors in her career in that event.

Congratulations, Emma--we're extremely proud of you!

Boise State's National Championships:

1958 Football NJCAA National Championship

1974 Bill Shaw, Men's Slalom Skiing National Champion

1980 Football I-AA National Championship

1991 Eugene Green, Men's Track Triple Jump National Champion

1984 Jake Jacoby, Men's Track High Jump National Champion

1999 Kirk White, 165-Pound National Wrestling Champion

2004 Gabe Wallin, Men's Track Javelin National Champion

2005 Gabe Wallin, Men's Track Javelin National Champion

2006 Ben Cherrington, 157-Pound National Wrestling Champion

2009 Eleni Kafourou, Women's Track Long Jump National Champion

2012 Kurt Felix, Men's Track Decathlon National Champion

2014 Emma Bates, Women's Track 10,000 Meters National Champion

Bronco Country Top Stories