Bronco Tennis Team Headed to Chicago!

Boise State's men's tennis team will be returning to the national indoor tennis championships by virtue of its regional championship won today at the Boas Tennis Center. Find out who will be joining the Broncos in Chicago!

     Boise State's men's tennis team rolled over the best the intermountain west has to offer in a double shutout today to capture the regional championship and advance to the national indoor tennis championships for the second consecutive year.  First, UNLV awoke to find a ferocious opponent in Boise State, as the Broncos won the first four singles matches to clinch the victory.  UNLV did not win a set in the blowout win; in fact the Rebels of the Mountain West Conference managed to win just 16 out of 64 games.


     With the win, Boise State earned a berth in the championship game tonight against Colorado of the Big 12 Conference which had put away New Mexico 4-1 earlier in the day.  It didn't matter.  Same result, as the Broncos whitewashed the Buffaloes by the same 4-0 count.  The doubles team of Thomas Schoeck and Luke Shields was victorious 8-4 and Ikaika Jobe and Matias Silva destroyed Colorado's #2 team 8-2 clinching the 1 point awarded for doubles.  Then, the six Broncos took to the court in singles action and again in straight sets, Boise State won the first 3 singles matches to end play and send Coach Greg Patton and company to the national championships.


     The ITA championships will be February 17-20 at the Mid-Town Tennis Club in Chicago.  The indoor championships are the premier collegiate indoor team tournaments offering a preview of the teams to beat at the May NCAA Championships.  USTA/ITA titles. All four of last year's USTA/ITA semifinalists are back: champion Illinois, finalist UCLA, Mississippi and Stanford. The host Illini are gunning for their 3rd straight indoor title.  All four of last May's NCAA semifinalists are also back, led by national champion Baylor, finalist UCLA, Southern California and Illinois.  Joining Boise State and those 6 prestigious teams next month are Duke, Florida, Georgia, Harvard, Kentucky, LSU, Ohio State, Oklahoma State and Virginia.








Bronco Country Top Stories