Boise State's Petersen One Of Five Finalists

No Boise State football player or coach has ever won a national award. The Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award will be presented this Thursday. Bronco Head Coach Chris Petersen is one of five finalists for the annual award.


Boise State Head Football Coach Chris Petersen is one of five finalists for the 2006 Paul Bear Bryant Football Coach of the Year Award.  Petersen guided his Broncos to a perfect 13-0 record this season, including a historic 43-42 win in overtime over Oklahoma in the Fiesta Bowl.  Petersen became only the second coach in the modern era (Miami of Florida's Larry Coker is the other) to finish his rookie season undefeated and the only rookie coach to finish with 13 wins.  The Bear Bryant Award is presented annually following voting by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA).  The winner will be named live at an award dinner benefiting the American Heart Association on Thursday at the Hilton Americas Hotel in downtown Houston

Finalists for the Bear Bryant Award in alphabetical order, are: Bret Bielema, University of Wisconsin; Lloyd Carr, University of Michigan; Chris Peterson, Boise State University; Greg Schiano, Rutgers, and Bob Stoops, Oklahoma.

Jim Grobe of Wake Forest has already won Coach of the Year awards from both the Associated Press and Liberty Mutual.  Schiano was named the Home Depot/ESPN Coach of the Year.


Bronco Country Top Stories