Petersen is the National Coach of the Year!

Boise State's football team has achieved great things over the last seven years. The Broncos own the best record in the nation since 1999. Boise State has finished in the Top 15 four of the last five years. Yet despite this success, no Boise State player or coach has ever won a national award. Until now...

Boise State's Chris Petersen has won the prestigious Paul "Bear" Bryant National Coach of the Year Award, as voted on by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association of America.  The award was presented to Petersen tonight in Houston.


It is the first time that any Bronco coach or player has won a major national award.  Petersen stepped in and guided Boise State to a perfect 13-0 record this season, as the Broncos finished the year as the nation's only unbeaten team.  Boise State defeated Oklahoma New Year's Day 43-42 in overtime in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.  Petersen is the only coach in modern football history to lead his team to a 13-0 record in his first season.


Past winners of the award have been Joe Paterno of Penn State, Bo Schembechler of Michigan, Ohio State's Woody Hayes and Mac Brown of Texas.


Bronco Country Top Stories