Shields Receives USTA Sportsmanship Award

Boise State's Luke Shields has received one of the highest honors a player can ever receive. Shields was presented with the United States Tennis Association Sportsmanship Award yesterday in Chicago.

Boise State's Luke Shields was honored with the United States Tennis Association Sportsmanship Award yesterday at the National Indoor Championship in Chicago.


Shields was selected for the award by the 16 coaches at the National Championship for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the tournament and throughout his career.


"I am so proud of Luke for he is the ultimate gentleman and sportsman and has always represents our program with great class", Bronco Coach Greg Patton said. "He is a true champion in every sense of the word."


Shields is ranked 15th in the nation in singles and plays No. 1 singles and No. 2 doubles for Patton's Broncos.   The award was presented by a member of the USTA Board of Directors, Jon Vegosen of Chicago.


Past USTA Sportsmanship Award Winners:

2007 - Luke Shields, Boise State

2006 - Jonathan Stokke, Duke

2005 - Hamid Mirzadeh, Florida

2004 - Chris Lam, UCLA

2003 - Rajeev Ram, Illinois

2002 - David Martin, Stanford

2001 - Jimmy Haney, TCU

2000 - Ramsey Smith, Duke

1999 - Ryan Wolters, Stanford

1998 - Thomas Blake, Harvard

1997 - Eddie Jacques, Georgia

1996 - Jeff Salzenstein, Stanford

1995 - Paul Goldstein, Stanford

1994 - Michael Hopkinson, Kentucky

1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee

1992 - Jason Yee, Stanford

Bronco Country Top Stories