Ryan Clady Named To Lombardi Watch List

Boise State All-American tackle Ryan Clady is one of 43 college football players named to the Rotary Lombardi Preliminary Watch List. Clady is one of three WAC players on the list.

Boise State junior left tackle Ryan Clady is one of 43 players on the Rotary Lombardi Award watch list, which was announced today.  Clady was an SI.com second-team All-American last season and a first-team All-Western Athletic Conference selection.

Eligibility for the Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen and those defensive players who line up within 5 yards of the football.  Michigan defensive end LaMarr Woodley won the 37th Rotary Lombardi Award last season.  The event raises funds for the American Cancer Society while honoring college football's best lineman.  The award will be presented December 5th of this year.

USC has the most players on the list with four, followed by TCU with three.  Kentucky, Marshall, Middle Tennessee and Rutgers each have two on the watch list.  Boise State, which won the 2007 Fiesta Bowl over Oklahoma, has just Clady on the list, because he was the only Bronco lineman named to the All-WAC team in a vote by the league's coaches.  Two other WAC linemen, Nevada's Ezra Butler and Idaho's David Vobora, are on the preliminary Watch List. 

The 43 preliminary candidates earned a place on the initial watch list by earning All-American honors or by being named to their respective all-conference team as selected by the conference's head coaches. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2007 season in order to identify those players who have been selected as pre-season honors candidates.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past finalists, all Division 1 head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2007.

The complete Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List for 2007 follows:

" Sam Baker, OT, USC
" Tommy Blake, DE, TCU
" George Bussey, OT, Louisville
" Ezra Butler, LB, Nevada
" Terrill Byrd, DT, Cincinnati
" Calais Campbell, DE, Miami
" Ian Campbell, DE, Kansas State
" Ryan Clady, OT, Boise State
" Bruce Davis, DE, UCLA
" Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
" Keilen Dykes, DT, West Virginia
" Sedrick Ellis, DT,
" Larry English, DE, Northern Illinois
" Eric Foster, DT, Rutgers
" Drew Fowler, LB, Air Force
" John Greco, OT, Toledo
" Quentin Groves, DE, Auburn
" Vince Hall, LB, Virginia Tech
" Tavares Jones,  DE, Middle Tennessee
" Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
" James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
" Doug Legursky, OL, Marshall
" Kory Lichtensteiger, OL, Bowling Green
" Jake Long, OT, Michigan
" Jonathan Luigs, C, Arkansas
" Alex Mack, C, California
" Rey Maualuga, LB,
" Albert McClellan, DE, Marshall
" Shawn Nelson, TE, Southern Miss
" Chase Ortiz, DE, TCU
" Jeremy Perry, OG, Oregon State
" Jason Phillips, LB, TCU
" Josh Pinnick, DL, Florida Atlantic
" Barry Richardson, OT, Clemson
" Steve Rissler, C, Florida
" Keith Rivers, LB,
" Martin Rucker, TE, Missouri
" Bo Ruud, LB, Nebraska
" Jacob Tamme, TE, Kentucky
" David Vobora, LB, Idaho
" Erik Walden, DL, Middle Tennessee
" Wesley Woodyard, LB, Kentucky
" Jeremy Zuttah, OL, Rutgers


Bronco Country Top Stories