Boise State Wipes Out Field To Win Pac-10

Boise State's first conference title of the year didn't come in the WAC but in the PAC-10. Boise State dominated from start to finish in winning its fourth Pac-10 Championship in Eugene, Oregon. Coach Greg Randall's squad accumulated 152 points over the two-day competition, 45 1/2 points better than second-place Stanford.

Boise State put on an incredible display of wrestling to easily win the Pac-10 Championship in Eugene tonight. Boise State finished with 152 points to win going away. Stanford was the next closest finisher with 106.5 points.

Two Broncos captured individual titles; Cory Fish at 133 pounds and Nate Lee at 174 pounds. Four more finished second--Adam Hall at 149 pounds, Tyler Sherfey at 157, Kurt Schwartz and 165 and Kirk Smith at 184 pounds.

With the team title all but secured before the final round tonight, the best news for Bronco fans out of the evening was that all three Broncos wrestling in consolation captured third place--Levi Jones at 141 pounds, Matt Casperson at 197 and heavyweight Nick Smith. Coach Greg Randall will thus send nine Broncos to the NCAA National Championships later this month.

Boise State is now in a six-way tie for the most Pac-10 championships this year with Oregon, USC, California, UCLA and Arizona. Stanford has won two Pac-10 championships this year, both in women's sports. The difference, of course, is that Boise State competes in only one Pac-10 sport, while the others compete in 21 league sports.

Congratulations to Coach Greg Randall, his staff, and the incredible 2008 Boise State wrestling team--Pac-10 Champions!

Bronco Country Top Stories