Broncos' 10-Win Streak Ranks 10th All-Time

The Bronco stampede just keeps rolling. The amazingly consistent Bronco football team notched its 10th win yesterday with a 45-15 win over Idaho. Boise State's streak of 10-win seasons (8 in 10 years) ranks tenth in NCAA history.

Boise State's current streak of 10-win seasons is now ranked tenth in the history of college football. 

With their 45-10 win at Idaho yesterday afternoon, Coach Chris Petersen's team won their 10th game of the season against zero defeats.  The Broncos have now put together a string of eight 10-win seasons in just ten years.  Only Alabama, Pennsylvania, Harvard, Princeton, Oklahoma and Miami of Florida have ever been more consistent. 

The Broncos tied Florida, Michigan and Nebraska and moved ahead of Ohio State and Penn State with their historic 10th win yesterday.

Beginning in 1999 (Boise State's fourth season in Division I-A), the Broncos were 10-3.  They followed that up by going 10-2 in 2000.  After slipping to 8-4 the following year,  the Broncos went 12-1, 13-1 and 11-1 in successive years.  Boise State stubbed their toe a bit in 2005 by going 9-4, but has returned with a 13-0 season in 2006, 10-3 last season and so far 10-0 this year. 

Florida State had the most amazing run in NCAA history, winning 10 or more games every year from 1987 through 2000--that's 14 years! Yale recorded 10 or more wins every season from 1888-1896 (nine years) and Pennsylvania matched that from 1890-1898. Texas won their 10th game of the season yesterday to record their eighth consecutive season of winning 10 or more games.  

 Alabama recorded 10 or more wins eight times from 1971-1979 (9 years). Harvard also accomplished the feat eight times in the years 1886-1894 as did Princeton (1888-1896), Oklahoma (1971-1979) and Miami of Florida (1983-1991).  Florida won 10 or more games eight times from 1991-2000 (10 years) as did Michigan (1971-1980) and Nebraska (1979-1988) and (1992-2001).

Ohio State won 10 or more games eight times, but it took them from 1993-2003 (11 years) as did Penn State (1968-1978).  Oklahoma also did it in 11 years from 1948-1958 and can improve upon that with another win this season--the Sooners have failed to win 10 games only once this decade.  BYU won 10 or more games eight times in a span of 12 years (1979-1990).

USC has a streak of 10 or more wins from 2002 through last season and can make it seven in a row this year.

Bronco Country Top Stories