Two Former Broncos Named to NFL All-Pro Team

It's time to add another brick. Boise State has its first member of the NFL All-Pro Team; in fact two former Broncos were named to the All-Pro Team by the Associated Press.

Ryan Clady and Quintin Mikell have become the first former Bronco standouts to be named to the National Football League All-Pro Team.  Both were named to the 2008 Associated Press All-Pro Second Team.

Clady, who was selected in the first round of last year's NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos, started every game for Denver his rookie season.  Clady also received several votes for NFL Rookie of the Year.  Ryan was a three-year starter for Boise State prior to entering the NFL Draft after his junior season.

Mikell, meanwhile, gradually worked his way into the deep and talented Philadelphia Eagle secondary and was a major force this season.  Mikell made 93 tackles, two sacks, three interceptions and forced two fumbles for Philadelphia.  Mikell was a four-year starter at Boise State from 1999-2002 and was a member of three Bronco conference championship and bowl teams.  In 2000, Mikell was named the Big West Conference Defensive Player of the Year.  He followed that up in 2002 by being honored as the Western Athletic Conference Defensive Most Valuable Player, the only Bronco player to be named Player of the Year in two conferences.

Here is the complete AP All-Pro team:


Bronco Country Top Stories

2008 All-Pro team
First-Team Offense
Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis.
Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Michael Turner, Atlanta.
Fullback: Le'Ron McClain, Baltimore.
Tight end: Tony Gonzalez, Kansas City.
Wide receivers: Andre Johnson, Houston; Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona.
Tackles: Jordan Gross, Carolina; Michael Roos, Tennessee.
Guards: Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota; Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants.
Center: Kevin Mawae, Tennessee.
Placekicker: Stephen Gostkowski, New England.
Kick returner: Leon Washington, N.Y. Jets.
First-Team Defense
Ends: Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants; Jared Allen, Minnesota.
Tackles: Albert Haynesworth, Tennessee; Kevin Williams, Minnesota.
Outside linebackers: DeMarcus Ware, Dallas; James Harrison, Pittsburgh.
Inside linebackers: Ray Lewis, Baltimore; Jon Beason, Carolina.
Cornerbacks: Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland; Cortland Finnegan, Tennessee.
Safeties: Ed Reed, Baltimore; Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh.
Punter: Shane Lechler, Oakland.
Second-Team Offense
Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans.
Running backs: DeAngelo Williams, Carolina; Clinton Portis, Washington.
Fullback: Madison Hedgecock, N.Y. Giants.
Tight end: Jason Witten, Dallas.
Wide receivers: Steve Smith, Carolina; Wes Welker, New England.
Tackles: Ryan Clady, Denver; (tie) David Stewart, Tennessee; Walter Jones, Seattle; Jason Peters, Buffalo; David Diehl, N.Y. Giants; Joe Thomas, Cleveland. 
Guards: Kris Dielman, San Diego; Alan Faneca, N.Y. Jets. 
Center: Shaun O'Hara, N.Y. Giants.
Placekicker: John Carney, N.Y. Giants.
Kick returner: Clifton Smith, Tampa Bay.
Second-Team Defense
Ends: Julius Peppers, Carolina; John Abraham, Atlanta.
Tackles: Kris Jenkins, N.Y. Jets; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore.
Outside linebackers: Joey Porter, Miami; Terrell Suggs, Baltimore.
Inside linebackers: Patrick Willis, San Francisco; James Farrior, Pittsburgh. 
Cornerbacks: Charles Woodson, Green Baby, Antoine Winfield, Minnesota. 
Safeties: Adrian Wilson, Arizona; (tie) Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia; Nick Collins, Green Bay   Punter: Donnie Jones, St. Louis.