Boise State's Petersen Wins Bear Bryant Award

Boise State's historic football team may not have been properly recognized, but its coach received his due when the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters tabbed Chris Petersen as the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award winner last night in Houston.

( Houston ) - Boise State head coach Chris Petersen has won the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award, given annually to the top collegiate football coach in the nation.  

Petersen, who also won the award three years ago following a 43-42 victory over Oklahoma in the 2007 Fiesta Bowl, becomes the first two-time winner of the award.  The "Bear" Bryant Award is given by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association in Houston .

``It's an honor for our program,'' Petersen said. ``Every time Boise State 's name is mentioned with these other universities and these coaches, it's really overwhelming. We're just so appreciative for the opportunity to be here.''

Boise State recently became the second team in the modern era (the other is Nebraska ) to have four undefeated seasons in six years.  The Broncos finished the year with a 17-10 win over #3 TCU in the 2010 Fiesta Bowl to complete a perfect 14-0 season.  Boise State is 49-4 in Petersen's first four years.  Petersen's team only loses four seniors from the Fiesta Bowl Champion team.  

The other finalists for the award were Alabama coach Nick Saban, Texas coach Mack Brown, Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson, Stanford's Jim Harbaugh, Oregon 's Chip Kelly and Houston 's Kevin Sumlin.

Gentry Motors, Proud Boise State and BroncoCountry Supporter

Bronco Country Top Stories