Petersen Wins BC Coach of the Year Honor

For the second consecutive year and the third time in four years, football coach Chris Petersen has been honored by BroncoCountry as the Bronco Coach of the Year.

As expected, head football coach Chris Petersen stormed to victory in BroncoCountry's annual Bronco Coach of the Year award.  Petersen, who is the only coach to win the Paul "Bear" Bryant National Coach of the Year honor twice, captured 70.9% of the vote in winning his third honor from BroncoCountry.  

It wasn't as if the other Boise State coaches hadn't enjoyed tremendous seasons.  Steve Lucas (soccer), Kristin Hill (swimming and diving) and Mark Tichenor (women's tennis) all led their teams to Western Athletic Conference championships.  

Rather, Petersen's achievements stand alone in setting a high standard for other Bronco coaches to match.  It is not enough to merely win a conference championship to win this award.  Your staff must be second to none and your student-athletes amongst the finest in the nation.  As the football team has shown, its members are recognized nationally year after year with All-America awards and go on to be some of the finest at their position in the professional ranks.  

BroncoCountry tabbed Petersen last year as well as in the 2006-07 season as Bronco Coach of the Year.  In both seasons, Coach Pete and the Broncos were undefeated in the regular season and they downed Oklahoma 43-42 in the 2007 Fiesta Bowl to finish the season as the nation's only unbeaten team.

Last fall, Petersen led Boise State 's football team to a perfect 14-0 record, including a 17-10 victory over #3 TCU in the 2010 Fiesta Bowl.  It was the second time that Petersen and the Broncos won the Fiesta Bowl in four seasons.  The 14 wins not only set a school record but were (along with Alabama ) the most by any team in the nation since Ohio State did it in 2001. 

Petersen not only was named WAC Coach of the Year but became the first college coach in history to win the prestigious Paul "Bear" Bryant Award for National Coach of the Year.  Petersen also won the Bryant Award in 2006.  Coach Petersen also was a finalist for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award.  Boise State was undefeated in the regular season for the third time in four years. 

Additionally, Offensive Coordinator Bryan Harsin was named as one of five finalists for the Broyles Award given annually to the nation's top assistant coach.

Petersen's high-powered offense once again led the nation in scoring, tied with Houston at 42.2 points per game.  Boise State was 26th in rushing (186.07 yards per game), 29th in passing (264.14 ypg), and 10th in total offense (450.21 ypg).  The Broncos paced the country with just five sacks allowed.  Boise State ranked 28th in rushing defense (120.36 ypg), 21st in passing defense (179.86 ypg), 14th in total defense (300.21 ypg) and also 14th in scoring defense (17.14 ppg). 

Boise State led the WAC in scoring, scoring defense, passing defense, total defense, kickoff returns (26.6 ypg) and interceptions with 24.

Quarterback Kellen Moore and the Broncos set NCAA records for the lowest interception ratio of all-time. 

Moore led the nation in passing efficiency most of the season before finishing second to Florida 's Tim Tebow.  Moore finished with a rating of 161.7.  Cornerback Brandyn Thompson finished the season #19 in the country in interceptions with six.  Titus Young was 20th in the nation in kickoff returns with a 26.87 average.  Kyle Brotzman led the WAC with 117 points and in field goals with 18. 

Moore was one of 15 players named to the Watch List for the Walter Camp Award for National Player of the Year and was also one of 10 finalists for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Manning Award.  The Manning Award, which is named in honor of the accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, recognizes the top college quarterback each season from the FBS.  Kyle Wilson was named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Moore was named first team All-America by and and was a third-team All-American on the Associated Press team.  Wilson was named to the second team by both the Associated Press and the Walter Camp Football Foundation.  Titus Young was an honorable mention selection of  Moore tossed a school-record 39 touchdown passes against only three interceptions and completed 64.8% of his passes (254-392) for 3,325 yards.  Wilson recorded 40 tackles (28 unassisted) and three interceptions, including two returns for touchdowns.  Young averaged 27.8 yards per return and returned two kickoffs for touchdowns.

  Moore was voted as the WAC Offensive Player of the Year to lead Boise State 's 11 All-WAC selections.  Junior wide receivers Austin Pettis and Titus Young and sophomore offensive lineman Nate Potter joined Moore as first-team All-WAC members.  Two members of Boise State 's top defense in the conference were honored—junior defensive end Ryan Winterswyk and senior defensive back Kyle Wilson.  Young was also chosen All-WAC as a kickoff returner.  Running back Jeremy Avery, defensive lineman Billy Winn, linebacker Winston Venable and defensive back Jeron Johnson were selected to the WAC's second team.

Petersen sent another First Round draft choice to the National Football League when cornerback Kyle Wilson was chosen by the New York Jets.

The Bronco football team's fortunes appear to be headed upward rather than down in coming years, so if another Boise State coach is to unseat Petersen in this annual award, they will have to match or exceed his national success of being ranked in the top five.

Congratulations to Coach Pete, once again the Bronco Coach of the Year!

Bronco Country Top Stories