Lasco Takes Home Team MVP Honors at Banquet

The Cal football team handed out its annual awards at a team banquet in Orinda on Saturday, with tailback Daniel Lasco taking home team MVP honors after the first 1,000-yard rushing season by a Bears tailback since 2011.

California running back Daniel Lasco was selected as the 2014 Cal Football Most Valuable Player to highlight a series of awards announced at the team’s annual banquet held Saturday at the Orinda Country Club. Lasco was the first Golden Bear to rush for over 1,000 yards since Isi Sofele turned the trick in 2011, and had the team’s most combined rushing (1,115) and receiving (356) yards since 2008.

Each of the award winners is listed below in reverse order of presentation with player bios and team notes following.

Cal finished the 2014 season with a 5-7 overall record and 3-6 mark in the conference to place fourth in the Pac-12 North Division for its highest showing since the 2011 team was also fourth. The Bears' four-win improvement in 2014 was its largest since Cal went from 1-10 in 2001 to 7-5 in 2002.

The 2015 season begins with a home game at Kabam Field at California Memorial Stadium against Grambling State on Saturday, Sept. 5.

Special Recognition AwardJared Goff, who broke 15 school records including single-season passing yards and touchdown passes. Goff ranked in the nation’s top 10 in six categories.

MVP - Daniel Lasco

Joe Roth Award (Player Who Best Exemplifies Courage, Sportsmanship and Attitude)Austin Clark, a sixth-year senior who had a career-high 10 starts and recorded 21 of his 22 career tackles in 2014.

Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)Mustafa Jalil, who was one of just two defensive players to start all 12 games, and set career highs in tackles (35) and tackles for loss (5.5) to lead all defensive linemen.

Bob Simmons Award (Most Valuable Freshman)Noah Westerfield, who played in all 12 games and made five of the team’s six starts by true freshmen. Westerfield was tied for second on team with three quarterback hurries.

Clint Evans Trophy (Most Intense Freshman Competitor)Luke Rubenzer. The freshman quarterback played in 11 of 12 games and was third on the team in rushing with 207 yards (most by a Cal QB since Aaron Rodgers in 2003).

Ken Cotton Award (Player Who Displays The Most Courage)Stephen Anderson. The former walk-on recorded 46 receptions, 661 receiving yards and five touchdown receptions, and is a candidate for the Burlsworth Trophy, an award given annually by the Rotary Club of Springdale, Ark., to the most outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

Ted Agu Community Service Award (Player Who Is Consistently Involved In The Community)Antione Davis, who attended each of the team’s community service events during the 2014 season.

Bob Tessier Award (Most Improved Lineman)Alex Crosthwaite, who started all 12 games at right guard, and earned his second straight honorable mention Pac-12 All-Academic honor. He is also a candidate for the Wuerffel Trophy, given annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Fla., to the college football player "who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement".

Andrew L. Smith Scholarship (Senior Player For Academic Excellence)Chris Adcock. The med school-bound center started all 12 games at center, and earned his third straight first-team Pac-12 All-Academic. He was also a national semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy, otherwise known as the Academic Heisman. Read more about Adcock and his efforts in Africa in our preseason feature.

Andy Smith Trophy (Player With Most Big C Playing Time)Steven Moore, who started all 12 games at left tackle and made starts in 23 of 24 contests over the past two seasons.

Dink Artal Award (Scout Team Player Of The Year)Donovan Frazer. He played in his first career game against Sacramento State and consistently provided excellent look of opposing teams on scout team.

Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player)Bryce McGovern. The former walk-on wide receiver started on five of six special teams units, and recorded most special teams snaps and points. He finished up this season at safety, and played in 47 of 49 possible career games.

Frank Storment Award (Outstanding Student-Athlete From Southern California)Stefan McClure. The redshirt junior defensive back recorded a career-high 50 tackles, and had one of only two interceptions thrown in 2014 by Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota of Oregon.

Stub Allison Award (Strength And Conditioning Award)Chris Borrayo. The true sophomore started 11 games at right guard and 16 of 17 dating back to final five contests of 2013.

Captains AwardsLucus Gingold, Jared Goff, Daniel Lasco, Michael Lowe, Stefan McClure and Brennan Scarlett.
Big C Awards (Seniors) – Chris Adcock, Austin Clark, Alejandro Crosthwaite, Donovan Frazer, Lucus Gingold, Austin Hinder, James Langford, Michael Lowe, Bryce McGovern, Avery Sebastian, John Sheperdson, Drake Whitehurst and Harrison Wilfley.
Big C Awards (First Year)Darius Allensworth, Hamilton Anoa'i, Jack Austin, Trey Cheek, Caleb Coleman, David Davis, Trevor Davis, Raymond Davison, Devante Downs, Vic Enwere, Donovan Frazer, David Garner, A.J. Greathouse, Raymond Hudson, Jonathan Johnson, Vincent Johnson, Jake Kearney, Trevor Kelly, Patrick Laird, James Langford, Joey Mahalic, Marcus Manley, Tony Mekari, Jack Moffett, Griffin Piatt, Matt Rockett, Luke Rubenzer, Aisea Tongilava, Arthur Wainwright, Tre Watson, Noah Westerfield, Darius White, Patrick Worstell Top Stories