Kirby Lee / USA TODAY Sports

Cal's first three football games games all at 7 p.m. or later

The Pac-12 announced television times for the first three weeks of the 2016-17 football season, and Cal gets three late games to lead off the slate.

The Pac-12 Conference announced the first three games of the television schedule on Wednesday, and despite the conference pledging last month to reduce late start times after 7 p.m., and stressing "the importance of rebalancing time demands of student-athletes," California will be playing at last four such games this season, as well as two weeknight games.

The first three weeks of the schedule had not yet been released, but the Thursday and Friday games had ben -- and Cal has both, back-to-back. The Bears will play against Oregon at Memorial Stadium on Friday, Oct. 21 at 7:30 p.m., and then, the next week, on Thurs., Oct. 27, at USC, at 7:30 p.m.

Date Opponent Time TV
Sat., Aug. 27 Hawai'i (in Sydney, Aus.) 7 p.m. PT TBA
Sat., Sept. 10 at San Diego State 7:30 p.m. PT CBSSN
Sat., Sept. 17 Texas 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN or ESPN2
Sat., Sept. 24 at Arizona State TBA TBA
Sat., Oct. 1 Utah TBA TBA
Sat., Oct. 8 at Oregon State TBA TBA
Fri., Oct. 21 Oregon 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN
Thurs., Oct. 27 at USC 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN
Sat., Nov. 5 Washington TBA TBA
Sat., Nov. 12 at Washington State TBA TBA
Sat., Nov. 19 Stanford TBA TBA
Sat., Nov. 26  UCLA TBA TBA

Cal will open the 2016 season as the home team against Hawai’i in Australia at the College Football Sydney Cup at the 83,000-seat ANZ Stadium in Sydney. That game will kick off at noon, local time, on Sat., Aug. 27, which in the United States, will be Friday, Aug. 27 at 7 p.m., Pacific.

The television network has yet to be announced for the contest that will be the first college football game ever in Sydney (the third in Australia and first since 1987). Cal and Hawai’i have spilt the four games they have played, last meeting in Berkeley in 1994.

The Bears will then have a bye week before heading to face San Diego State at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego.


BearTerritory.net Top Stories