Nathan Phillips / Golden Bear Sports

Cal has released its full 2016 fall camp schedule, with 17 open practices

Cal football will hold 17 fall camp practices open to the public, in advance of heading to Sydney, Australia, to open the season against Hawaii.

Countdown to Kickoff

MEDIA DAY: QUARTERBACK COMPETITION
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: DEFENSIVE BACKS
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: CAL RUNNING BACKS
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: CAL DEFENSIVE LINE
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: QUARTERBACK (Members)
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: CAL WIDE RECEIVERS (Members)
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: CAL LINEBACKERS (Members)
COUNTDOWN TO KICKOFF: CAL OFFENSIVE LINE (Members)

READ MORE:

ENWERE: OL IS CAL'S STRONGEST UNIT
DYKES HOPES TO NAME STARTING QB DAY ONE
CAL SELECTION CRITERIA FOR TANJI REPORT
PAC-12 MEDIA DAY: CAL HEADED DOWN UNDER

The California football team will report to camp on Sunday, July 31, and then get down to the work of actual practices on Monday, the Bears announced on Friday. Following the final practice of camp, Cal will leave for Sydney, Australia, on Saturday, Aug. 20.

http://www.scout.com/college/california/story/1617106-cal-to-open-2016-f... Head coach Sonny Dykes said that he expects over 80,000 fans at ANZ Stadium on Saturday, Aug., 27 (12 p.m., Sydney time; 7 p.m., Aug. 26, Pacific Time), when the Bears play Hawaii in the first ever college football game in Sydney. It will be the third ever game played in Australia, and the first since 1987.

"The great thing about our trip to Sydney is where we're staying," Dykes said. "We're staying right downtown, right in the middle of all the action. Our players are going to be able to go practice in the morning, and have some free time in the afternoon, to get back to the hotel and they can walk around and see the sites. We've got some team activities planned that we're finalizing. We're going to get to see everything, and our guys are going to get to see it as a team, and then, some individually, where they have opportunities to go see things they want to see on their own. It's going to be a fun, fun week. Our guys are excited about being there. We're excited to have a chance to be around people from Australia. There's a lot of excitement about the football game in the country, so we're excited to get there."

Due to the fact that the Bears will essentially spend the final week of camp on another continent, Pigskins & Pearls will be moving to a spring date, while the annual Golden Bear Day will not be held.

The game against Hawaii will be televised by ESPN.

For the rest of the game schedule, click HERE.

DAY, DATE START TIME
Monday, August 1 3:30 pm
Tuesday, August 2  3:30 pm
Wednesday, August 3  3:30 pm
Thursday, August 4  3:30 pm
Friday, August 5  3:30 pm
Saturday, August 6  3:30 pm
Monday, August 8 3:30 pm
Tuesday, August 9 3:30 pm
Wednesday, August 10 3:30 pm
Thursday, August 11 3:30 pm
Saturday, August 13 3:30 pm
Monday, August 15 10:15 am
Tuesday, August 16 3:30 pm
Wednesday, August 17  10:15 am
Thursday, August 18  10:15 am
Friday, August 19  10:15 am
Saturday, August 20 10:15 am   

BearTerritory.net Top Stories