Casey Sapio / USA TODAY Sports

Cal forward Ivan Rabb has been named a candidate for the Karl Malone Award

California sophomore Ivan Rabb is named to a list of 20 players to watch for the annual award given to the top power forward in college basketball.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Thursday that California sophomore forward Ivan Rabb is among the 20 college basketball players garnering early looks for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

The annual award recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball.

The initial 20-man watch list is compiled by a national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel. In his freshman season, Rabb earned second-team All-Pac-12, was an All-Pac-12 Tournament selection and earned Pac-12 All-Freshman honors, setting the school freshman record with 291 rebounds on the year.

The Oakland (Calif.) Bishop O'Dowd grad ranked second in the conference and led the Bears in field goal percentage (61.5%), rebounding (8.6 rpg) and blocks (42). Rabb started all 34 games, turning in 27 double-figure scoring games. His career-high 21-point, 15-rebound performance against Oregon State, along with a 13-point performance against Utah in the Pac-12 Tournament earned him the All-Tournament nod. Rabb finished off the season with a double-double against Hawaii in the No. 4-seed Bears' first-round NCAA Tournament exit against the No. 13-seed Warriors, pulling down 12 boards on top of 13 points.

The Malone Award committee will narrow its watch list to 10 by mid-February, with five finalists selected in March. Players have the ability to play themselves on or off the list until the five finalists are selected by Malone himself, and his selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be announced at the third annual ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles onApril 7

2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

  • Lauri Markkanen (Arizona)
  • Johnathan Motley (Baylor)
  • Ivan Rabb (California)
  • Amile Jefferson (Duke)
  • Jonathan Isaac (Florida St.)
  • Yante Maten (Georgia)
  • Carlton Bragg Jr. (Kansas)
  • Dedric Lawson (Memphis)
  • Miles Bridges (Michigan St.)
  • Isaiah Hicks (North Carolina)
  • Bonzie Colson (Notre Dame)
  • Michael Young (Pittsburgh)
  • Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)
  • Tyler Lydon (Syracuse)
  • TJ Leaf (UCLA)
  • Bennie Boatwright (University of Southern California)
  • Alec Peters (Valparaiso)
  • Kris Jenkins (Villanova)
  • Austin Nichols (Virginia)
  • Nigel Hayes (Wisconsin) Top Stories