Humphrey Named to Mackey Award Watch List

MOUNT PLEASANT - Central Michigan University senior Tory Humphrey is on the preseason 2004 John Mackey Award list for the Best Collegiate Tight End in Division I-A.

A total of 26 student-athletes from throughout the country are on the list released by the Nassau County Sports Commission. The winner will be announced in early December and will receive his trophy at the NCSC's Annual Awards Dinner in April.

Tory Humphrey is joined on the list by Andy Roland (Duke), Heath Miller (Virginia), Matt Herian (Nebraska), Victor Sesay (Missouri), Joe Klopfenstein (Colorado), David Thomas (Texas), Clark Harris (Rutgers), Anthony Fassano (Notre Dame), Ryan Hamby (Ohio State), Andrew Clarke (Toledo), Tyson Devree (Western Michigan), David Jones (LSU), Caleb Blankship (Tulsa), Matt Bartz (Colorado State), Jeremy Justice (San Diego State), Daniel Coats (BYU), Greg Estandia (UNLV), Alex Holmes (Southern California), Troy Bienerman (Washington State), Tim Day (Oregon), Garrett Cross (California), Jon Lyon (Washington), Marcedes Lewis (UCLA), Cooper Wallace (Auburn) and Duncan Reid (Fresno State).

The 2003 winner was Kellen Winslow II from the University of Miami.

Humphrey, a 6-3, 244-pounder, is a three-year regular who has 60 career receptions for 725 yards and seven touchdowns. He had 14 catches for 212 yards and two TDs last season.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories