Seymour Named CMU MVP

MOUNT PLEASANT - Sophomore tailback Jerry Seymour was named Most Valuable Player by his teammates at the annual Central Michigan University football banquet here Sunday afternoon.

The 5-6, 190-pound Jerry Seymour rushed for 1,284 yards on 262 carries and also led the Chippewas with 47 receptions for 413 more yards.

Three seniors earned special recognition awards: Grant Arnoldink, the Ember's Leadership and Motivation Award; James King, the Kurt Dobronski Award for effort, intensity and appreciation of CMU football; and Dave Kurzen, the Scholar-Athlete Award.

Other awards at the banquet honoring Coach Brian Kelly's 4-7 CMU team went to: senior Adam Kieft, Lineman of the Year; sophomore Daniel Bazuin, Defensive Player of the Year; junior Kent Smith, Offensive Player of the Year; senior Mike Thomas, Special Teams Player of the Year; freshman Brian Brunner, Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year; and freshman Chris Wohlgamuth, Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories