Bazuin Named to Nagurski Watch List

MOUNT PLEASANT - Junior standout defensive end Dan Bazuin turned some heads in his sophomore year. This year, people are taking notice early on.

Daniel Bazuin was one of 50 players named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list by the Football Writers Association of America.

A member of last year's first team All-Mid-American Conference squad, Bazuin finished with 50 tackles. Eight of them were for a loss, including three quarterback sacks. He also recovered a fumble and blocked a team-high four kicks.

This is his second preseason watch list. He is also listed as one of the 54 players to watch on the preseason Lombardi Award radar. The Lombardi Award is given to the top lineman in college football.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football, as determined by the FWAA. It is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be added to the watch list during the course of the 2005 season.

The 2005 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 5, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize. Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.


Muhammad Abdullah, DB, Kentucky

Rufus Alexander, LB, Oklahoma

Jason Allen, DB, Tennessee

Jon Alston, LB, Stanford

Dan Bazuin, DE, Central Michigan

Darnell Bing, DB, USC

Larry Birdine, DE, Oklahoma

H. B. Blades, LB, Pittsburgh

Trent Bray, LB, Oregon State

Ahmad Brooks, LB, Virginia

Jeremy Chase, DE, Navy

Bernard Davis, LB, Troy

Will Derting, LB, Washington State

Ray Edwards, DE, Purdue

John Eubanks, DB, Southern Miss

Steve Fifita, DL, Utah

Gabriel Fulbright, DB, New Mexico

Charles Gordon, DB, Kansas

Chad Greenway, LB, Iowa

Korey Hall, LB, Boise State

Roman Harper, DB, Alabama

Spencer Havner, LB, UCLA

A. J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State

Abdul Hodge, LB, Iowa

Thomas Howard, LB, UTEP

Michael Huff, DB, Texas

D'Qwell Jackson, LB, Maryland

Cameron Jensen, LB, BYU

Mathias Kiwanuka, DE, Boston College

LaRon Landry, DB, LSU

Jesse Mahelona, DT, Tennessee

Derrick Martin, DB, Wyoming

Larry McSwain, DE, UAB

Quentin Moses, DE, Georgia

Terna Nande, LB, Miami (Ohio)

Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon

Paul Posluszny, LB, Penn State

Josh Powell, DB, San Jose State

DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama

Ko Simpson, DB, South Carolina

Ernie Sims, LB, Florida State

Darryl Tapp, DE, Virginia Tech

Dhyan Tarver, DB, Army

Gabe Watson, DT, Michigan

Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech

Travis Williams, LB, Auburn

Kyle Williams, DT, LSU

Mario Williams, DE, N.C. State

Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas

Alan Zemaitis, DB, Penn State

Chippewas Insider Top Stories