Watson Named First Team All-MAC

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Central Michigan University junior Giordan Watson of Birmingham (Mich.) Groves High School has been named first team All-Mid-American Conference by the league coaches.

The junior point guard becomes the 17th first team All-MAC pick in Central Michigan University history, and the first since Chris Kaman in 2003. Watson was an honorable mention All-MAC honoree last season.

Joining Giordan Watson on the first team are Akron senior Romeo Travis, Miami junior Tim Pollitz, Toledo senior Justin Ingram and Ohio sophomore Jerome Tillman. Travis was named the MAC's Player of the Year while Watson was third in voting for the award which is determined by the MAC News Media Association.

Watson ranked among the MAC statistical leaders in seven categories through the regular season. He was second in scoring (18.5), third in free throw percentage (.823), fifth in assists (4.21) and steals (1.72), eighth in assist/turnover ratio (1.10), ninth in three-pointers made (2.00) and 12th in three-point percentage (.374).

Watson was the only player to rank in the top 10 in the league in both overall scoring and assists. His 19.8 points per game in MAC action led the conference.

His 58 three-pointers this season currently rank ninth on CMU's single season chart while he needs just six points in the MAC Tournament to join the school's top 10 list for season points (currently has 536).

The second team All-MAC squad includes Akron junior Dru Joyce, Kent State senior Omni Smith, Ohio junior Leon Williams, Toledo senior Keonta Howell and Western Michigan junior Joe Reitz.

Honorable mention All-MAC picks are Ball State senior Skip Mills, Bowling Green sophomore Nate Miller, Bowling Green senior Martin Samarco, Buffalo senior Yassin Idbihi, Kent State junior Mike Scott, Miami senior Nathan Peavy, Northern Illinois senior Mike McKinney, Ohio senior Sonny Troutman, Toledo senior Florentino Valencia and Western Michigan sophomore Shawtes Gary.

CMU opens Mid-American Conference Tournament play on Wednesday at 5 p.m. Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio is hosting all 12 teams this week. The No. 7 Chippewas face No. 10-seeded Buffalo in the first round. The winner will take on No. 2 Akron on Thursday at 7 p.m.


• Watson is the third straight junior to earn first team All-MAC honors for CMU. Chris Kaman was named in 2003 and David Webber in 2001. Both of those players were also named the MAC Player of the Year while leading CMU to the regular season title.

• Watson will have the opportunity to repeat his selection next season. Only three players in CMU history have earned first team All-MAC honors more than once. Dan Majerle was a three-time first team selection in 1986, '87 and '88 while Dan Roundfield was twice named in 1974 and '75 and Melvin McLauglin in 1981 and '82.

• Seven of CMU's previous 16 first team All-MAC selections were named to the team during a MAC championship season.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories