LeFevour Named to Manning Award Watch List

MOUNT PLEASANT - Central Michigan University sophomore quarterback Dan LeFevour of Lisle (Ill.) Benet Academy has been named to the preseason watch list for the Manning Award.

Dan LeFevour is one of 35 players selected to the watch list, presented after the bowl season to the nation's top quarterback. Finalists for the award will be announced prior to the start of bowl season.

A panel of selected national media members, as well as Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, vote on the award. The first three recipients of the Manning Award were Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Vince Young (Texas, 2006) and JaMarcus Russell (LSU, 2007).

As a redshirt freshman in 2006, LeFevour posted one of the finest seasons of any quarterback in CMU history. He was named MAC Freshman of the Year, All-MAC first team, Motor City Bowl MVP, Freshman All-America honorable mention by Sporting News and was a member of the Academic All-MAC squad.

LeFevour set single-season school records for touchdown passes (26), passing yards (3,031) and total offense (3,552) while becoming the first freshman quarterback since 1982 to lead a team to a MAC title. He was also second on the team in rushing yards (521) and tied for the team lead in rushing touchdowns (7).

LeFevour led the conference in completions (247), completion percentage (63.7), passing yards, touchdown passes, total offense and total offense average (253.7 ypg). He also led all freshman quarterbacks in Division I-A in completions and passing yards and tied for second in touchdown passes.

Central Michigan claimed its fifth MAC title with a 31-10 win over Ohio in the 2006 MAC Championship Game. The Chippewas closed their season with a 31-14 victory over Middle Tennessee State in the Motor City Bowl.

CMU opens the 2007 season Sept. 1 at Kansas.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories