Nine Chippewas Earn All-MAC Recognition

MOUNT PLEASANT - Sophomore receiver/returner Antonio Brown of Miami (Fla.) Norland High School headlines a list of nine different Central Michigan University players named to the 2008 All-Mid-American Conference football team.

Antonio Brown was voted by the MAC News Media Association as the conference's Special Teams Player of the Year. The league's head coaches selected him to the all-conference first team offense and tabbed him as both the first team kick returner and first team punt returner.

Joining Brown as All-MAC first team selections were senior offensive tackle Andrew Hartline of Stevensville (Mich.) Lakeshore High School, junior receiver Bryan Anderson, Rockford (Mich.) H.S., sophomore linebacker Nick Bellore, Whitefish Bay (Wisc.) H.S., and junior defensive end Frank Zombo of Sterling Heights (Mich.) Stevenson H.S.

Junior quarterback Dan LeFevour of Lisle (Ill.) Benet Academy was a second team selection, while senior offensive tackle Greg Wojt, Mississauga (Ont.) Goetz Secondary School, junior kicker Andrew Aguila of Bellflower (Calif.) St. John Bosco High School and Compton Junior College, and sophomore defensive lineman Sean Murnane of Mundelein (Ill.) Carmel H.S. were all third team honorees.

CMU's seven first-team selections are the most since 1990. With 11 total All-MAC selections in 2008, CMU now has 32 total All-MAC selections over the past three years, more than any other conference member during that time. This is the fourth straight year CMU has claimed at least one of the conference's annual specialty awards.

Brown is the first Chippewa to earn the conference's Special Teams Player of the Year accolade. He currently leads the nation in punt return yardage, averaging 20.7 yards on 18 returns. He has three returns of at least 42 yards in 2008, including a 75-yard return for the go-ahead touchdown at Ohio on Sept. 13.

Brown also was named both the all-conference first team kick returner and punt returner after being voted the conference's first team return specialist in 2007.

As a receiver, Brown has caught a team-leading 82 passes for 906 yards and six touchdowns. His 82 catches are the third-most in a season in school history, while his 906 receiving yards rank sixth. He was a second team all-conference pick as a receiver in 2007.

Anderson returns to the All-MAC first team after being a second team selection in 2007. He was a first-team honoree after catching a then school-record 73 passes as a redshirt freshman in 2006. This season, Anderson has caught 59 passes for 835 yards and six scores. He became CMU's all-time leader in receptions and touchdown receptions earlier this season.

Anderson is just the second Chippewa receiver to earn All-MAC first team honors twice in a career, joining 1996 and 1998 All-MAC first team selection Reggie Allen.

Hartline is a member of the all-conference first team for the first time. He was a second-team selection in 2006 and 2007. Hartline has been in the starting lineup for all 51 of CMU's games since the start of the 2005 season. He is tied for the longest active games started streak in the country.

Bellore is a member of the All-MAC team for the first time after registering 135 tackles during the regular season. He leads the MAC and ranks fourth nationally with an average of 11.2 tackles per game. Bellore made at least 11 stops in nine of CMU's 12 regular season games, including a career-high tying 16 tackles against both Eastern Illinois and Eastern Michigan.

Zombo also collects his first all-conference honor after posting 15 tackles for loss, including nine sacks, during the regular season. He led the MAC in tackles for loss and ranked second in sacks. Zombo made at least two sacks in three different games, and his nine sacks are tied for the third most in a season in school history. He was named MAC West Division Defensive Player of the Week after collecting six tackles, 2.5 sacks and a forced fumble in the season opener against Eastern Illinois.

LeFevour is a member of the All-MAC squad for the third consecutive season. He was a first-team selection in both 2006 and 2007. LeFevour completed 223-of-336 passes for 2,531 yards and 19 touchdowns during the regular season. He also was CMU's leading rusher with 536 yards and six touchdowns, and he led the MAC and ranked 11th nationally in total offense (306.7 ypg). He posted at least 400 yards of offense in three different games, had three 100-yard rushing efforts and accounted for two or more total touchdowns in eight of his 10 games played in 2008. LeFevour was a two-time MAC West Division Offensive Player of the Week during the regular season.

Wojt is a member of the All-MAC squad for the first time in his career. He is in his second season as the Chippewas' starting right tackle. He was part of an offensive line that helped CMU rank second in the MAC in scoring (30.2 ppg), passing (292.8 ypg) and total offense (427.1 ypg).

Aguila converted 14-of-19 field goal attempts and 43-of-45 point-after attempts to earn a spot on the All-MAC third team. He kicked at least one field goal in each of CMU's 12 regular season games, including a 40-yarder in overtime to lift the Chippewas to a 33-30 win at Northern Illinois on Nov. 12. He was named MAC West Division Special Teams Player of the Week after making all five point-after attempts and a 20-yard field goal in CMU's 38-28 win over Western Michigan on Oct. 18. Aguila is the first CMU kicker to earn All-MAC honors since Brad Blasy in 1995.

Murnane was second among his teammates in tackles for loss (7.5) and fourth in total tackles (51) during the regular season. He also recovered two fumbles. Murnane tallied a career-high nine tackles, including three tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks, in the Chippewas' 24-14 win over Temple on Oct. 11.

Central Michigan closed the regular season 8-4 overall, 6-2 in conference play. This is the first time CMU has won at least eight games in three consecutive seasons since 1978-80.

Central Michigan's All-MAC Selections

Antonio Brown WR/KR/PR Special Teams Player of the Year

Antonio Brown WR/KR/PR First Team Offense, First Team Kick Returner, First Team Punt Returner

Bryan Anderson WR First Team Offense

Andrew Hartline OL First Team Offense

Nick Bellore LB First Team Defense

Frank Zombo DE First Team Defense

Dan LeFevour QB Second Team Offense

Greg Wojt OL Third Team Offense

Andrew Aguila K Third Team Placekicker

Sean Murnane DL Third Team Defense

Chippewas Insider Top Stories