Brown, LeFevour Lead CMU's All-MAC Selections

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - Central Michigan has claimed three of the Mid-American Conference's annual specialty awards and 10 different Chippewas have earned All-MAC honors, the conference announced Wednesday.

Senior quarterback Dan LeFevour earned two of the MAC's annual awards. He was selected as the 2009 recipient of the Vern Smith Leadership Award, presented to the conference's most valuable player, and was named the MAC Offensive Player of the Year.

Junior receiver/return specialist Antonio Brown was named the MAC Special Teams Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

LeFevour (Downers Grove, Ill./Benet Academy) is the fourth Chippewa to earn the Vern Smith Leadership Award and the first since Brian Pruitt in 1994. This marks the sixth time a Chippewa has been named MAC Offensive Player of the Year; LeFevour, who won the award in 2007, is the first player from CMU to claim the award twice and the seventh player in conference history to earn the honor more than once.

Brown (Miami, Fla./North Carolina Tech) is the first player be named special teams player of the year in back-to-back seasons in the award's 12-year history.

LeFevour was named to the All-MAC First Team Offense for the third time in his career. He has completed 257-of-362 passes (71.0 percent) for 2,788 yards and 25 touchdowns in 2009. He also has rushed for 650 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Brown earned first team all-conference recognition as both a receiver and punt returner. He ranked second in the MAC in receptions (89) and all-purpose yards (2.093), tied for second in touchdown receptions (9) and tied for fourth in receiving yards (954). Brown averaged 13.5 yards per punt return, including a pair of punt returns for touchdowns.

LeFevour and Brown become the fourth and fifth players in program history to earn All-MAC first-team honors in three different seasons, joining defensive end Dan Bazuin (2004-06), running back Curtis Adams (1982-84) and defensive back Robert Jackson (1978-80). LeFevour and senior receiver Bryan Anderson, a second-team selection in 2009, become the only Chippewas in program history to collect All-MAC accolades in each of their four seasons.

Joining LeFevour and Brown on the All-MAC first team were senior offensive lineman Allen Ollenburger, junior linebacker Nick Bellore and senior defensive end Frank Zombo.

Junior offensive lineman Colin Miller and senior defensive back Josh Gordy joined Anderson on the all-conference second team, while third-team honorees were senior defensive end Larry Knight and junior defensive tackle Sean Murnane.

CMU's five All-MAC selections on defense are the most for the program since 1990. Gordy is the first Chippewa defensive back to earn All-MAC honors since 2003.

Ollenburger (Charlotte, Mich./Charlotte HS) earned all-conference recognition for the first time in his first year as a full-time starter on the offensive line. He has started all 12 games at right guard, helping the Chippewa offense become the top-ranked scoring offense (34.3 ppg) and No. 2-ranked total offense (419.9 ypg) in the MAC.

Bellore (Whitefish Bay, Wis./Whitefish Bay HS) is an all-conference first-team selection for the second straight season. He finished the regular season with 112 total tackles, his third consecutive 100-tackle season. Bellore has made 10.5 tackles for loss, intercepted two passes and forced a pair of fumbles.

Zombo (Sterling Heights, Mich./Stevenson HS) also is an All-MAC first teamer for the second straight season. Among his 34 tackles during the regular season were six tackles for loss. He also returned an interception for a touchdown in the regular season finale, forced one fumble and recovered a fumble in 2009.

Anderson (Rockford, Mich./Rockford HS) is a member of the All-MAC team for the fourth consecutive season. A first-team selection in 2006 and 2008, Anderson also earned second-team honors in 2007. He caught 50 passes for 646 yards and five touchdowns during the regular season. Anderson's streak of 52 consecutive games with a reception is the longest in NCAA history.

Miller (Centreville, Va./Centreville HS) earned All-MAC recognition for the first time in his career. He started nine games at center in his third year as a starter on the Chippewas' offensive line.

Gordy (Warthen, Ga./Washington County HS) collected all-conference accolades for the first time in his career. He led the MAC with 10 pass break-ups and tied for third with three interceptions in 2009 despite missing two games due to injury.

Knight (Augusta, Ga./Glenn Hills HS) also is a first-time all-conference honoree. He has tallied 33 tackles, including seven tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks, and forced a fumble during the regular season.

Murnane (Green Oaks, Ill./Carmel HS) is a member of the All-MAC third team for the second straight year. He ranks fourth among his teammates with 45 tackles in 2009. Murnane has collected six tackles for loss, including 2.5 sacks, intercepted a pass and forced a fumble.

Central Michigan (10-2 overall, 8-0 MAC) meets Ohio (9-3 overall, 7-1 MAC) in the MAC Championship Game Friday at 8 p.m. at Ford Field in Detroit. ESPN2 will televise the contest live to a national audience.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories