LeFevour a Lowe's Senior CLASS All-American

MOUNT PLEASANT - Central Michigan quarterback Dan LeFevour has been named to the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award All-Senior All-America Team.

The All-America teams were announced Friday night in conjunction with the presentation of the 2009 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Florida quarterback Tim Tebow was named the recipient of the Senior CLASS Award.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. The award identifies personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete, with criteria including excellence in the classroom, outstanding character and community service in addition to competition on the field.

Dan LeFevour and Tebow were joined on the All-Senior All-America first team by Missouri offensive lineman Kurtis Gregory, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy.

Second team honorees were Utah offensive lineman Zane Beadles, Boise State fullback Richie Brockel, Minnesota wide receiver Eric Decker, Michigan punter Zoltan Mesko and Kansas safety Darrell Stuckey.

The Lowe's Senior CLASS All-America accolade is the latest honor for LeFevour, who already has been named the Mid-American Conference's Vern Smith Leadership Award winner, the MAC Offensive Player of the Year, All-MAC first team and the MAC Championship Game Offensive Player of the Game in 2009.

LeFevour, who earned his bachelor's degree in December, maintained a 3.57 GPA as an interpersonal communication major. He was a CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District IV second team selection this season. The two-year team captain was nominated for the 2009 American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team based on his community service efforts.

LeFevour will lead No. 25 Central Michigan (11-2 overall) into the GMAC Bowl against Troy (9-3 overall) on Wednesday, Jan. 6. Both teams are their respective conference's outright champions. ESPN will televise the matchup at 6 p.m. Central Standard Time.

Chippewas Insider Top Stories