Cincinnati Bearcats sophomore Jacob Evans named to the Jerry West Award Watch List

Cincinnati Bearcats sophomore guard Jacob Evans was named to the Jerry West Award Watch List on Tuesday.

Jacob Evans is one of the more complete players that Cincinnati Bearcats head coach Mick Cronin has lured to the Queen City. It is cool to see Evans get some recognition, a lot of people expect him to have a monster sophomore season. Hopefully at the end of the season he will still be on this list.

Per GoBearcats

University of Cincinnati sophomore Jacob Evans (Baton Rouge, La./St. Michael the Archangel) has been named one of 20 watch list members for the 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

Evans averaged 8.4 points in 24.4 minutes as a freshman for the Bearcats last season, shooting 37.2 percent (94 of 253) from the field, 33.3 percent (45 of 135) from three-point range and 80.4 percent (45 of 56) from the free throw line.

Evans finished second on the team in scoring during two postseason games a year ago for Cincinnati, averaging 15.0 points while shooting 42.3 percent (11 of 26) from the field. He scored the most points in an NCAA Tournament game by a UC freshman, netting 26 points with five threes against Saint Joseph’s on Mar. 18, 2016. 

He also ranked second on the team in scoring over the last two months of the 2015-16 season with 11.5 points per game, reaching double figures in scoring five times in the last eight contests while tallying 24 three-pointers during the stretch.

Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“Now in its third year, this award’s watch list has included a tremendous pool of athletes and all the nominees should be very proud,” said Jerry West, a 1979 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “It is truly an honor be associated with this award and I’m looking forward to a great season of competition as we narrow our list of candidates.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Jerry West Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, California, on Friday, Apr. 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015). For more information on the 2017 Jerry West Award, log onto


Allonzo Trier, Arizona

Dusty Hannahs, Arkansas

Nick Emery, Brigham Young University

Jacob Evans, Cincinnati

Charles Cook, Dayton

Grayson Allen, Duke

Jordan Matthews, Gonzaga

Malcolm Hill, Illinois

James Blackmon Jr., Indiana

Peter Jok, Iowa

Devonte' Graham, Kansas

Malik Monk, Kentucky

Antonio Blakeney, LSU

Donovan Mitchell, Louisville

Eron Harris, Michigan State

Elijah Brown, New Mexico

Tyler Dorsey, Oregon

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Shake Milton, SMU

Isaac Hamilton, UCLA

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season.

Inside The Bearcats Top Stories