Miller Named to Nagurski Watch List

Clemson sophomore cornerback Justin Miller is one of 36 defensive players from across the nation named to the preseason Watch List for the Bronko Nagurski Award.

The award, named after Hall of Famer and University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears star Bronko Nagurski, recognizes the best all-around defensive players throughout the year with the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week. In November, five finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America committee and the trophy will be presented to the winner at a banquet on December 8 in Charlotte, N.C.

Miller ranked fifth in the nation in interceptions last year with eight. That tied a Clemson single season record. In addition to leading the ACC in interceptions, he also led the conference in kickoff return average. He had 17 passes defensed for the year to rank in a tie for team honors with Brian Mance, and he finished the season with 61 total tackles. Miller was a first-team freshman All-American by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Watch List serves as guide to the best players in the game and is updated each week during the college football season. It is the 11th straight year the FWAA has honored the Defensive Player of the Year. Terrell Suggs of Arizona State was the recipient last year.

The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

The following 36 players make up the 2003 Watch List:

Tim Anderson, DL, Ohio State
Jason Babin, DL, Western Michigan
Atari Bigby, DB, Central Florida
Michael Boulware, LB, Florida State
Jamaal Brimmer, DB, UNLV
Jorge Cordova, DE, Nevada
Karlos Dansby, LB, Auburn
Rod Davis, LB, Southern Miss
Brandon Everage, DB, Oklahoma
Matt Grootegoed, LB, USC
Claude Harriott, DE, Pittsburgh
Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
Jason Kaufusi, DL, Utah
Brandon Kennedy, DT, North Texas
Teddy Lehman, LB, Oklahoma
Jim Leonhard, DB, Wisconsin
Justin Miller, CB, Clemson
Kirk Morrison, LB, San Diego State
Antwan Odom, DE, Alabama
Philip Perry, DE, San Jose State
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Etric Pruitt, DB, Southern Miss
Bob Sanders, DB, Iowa
Stuart Schweigert, FS, Purdue
Darrion Scott, DL, Ohio State
Richard Seigler, LB, Oregon State
Isaac Sopoaga, DT, Hawaii
Derrick Strait, DB, Oklahoma
Marcus Tubbs, DT, Texas
Kenechi Udeze, DE, USC
Jonathan Vilma, LB, Miami
Courtney Watson, LB, Notre Dame
Corey Webster, CB, LSU
Grant Wiley, LB, West Virginia
Madieu Williams, CB, Maryland Top Stories