ACC 50th Anniversary Basketball Team

The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Basketball Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. The 50-member team was voted on by a 120-member blue-ribbon committee that was selected by the league's 50th Anniversary Committee.

North Carolina led all league schools with 12 members on the Golden Anniversary team while Duke was second with 11 honorees. Maryland had eight players selected, followed by Wake Forest (5), Georgia Tech and NC State (4), Virginia (3), Clemson (2) and South Carolina with one. The 50th Anniversary team includes:

  • 17 players who earned National Player of the Year honors a total of 22 times.

  • 27 players who earned consensus 1st team All-America honors a total of 38 times.

  • 18 players who were three-time first-team All-ACC selections.

  • 48 players were first round selections in either the annual NBA or ABA draft, including 9 players who were the first overall selection in that year's draft.

  • 7 players who earned Academic All-American honors.

    The ACC's 50th Anniversary Basketball team, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

    ACC 50th Anniversary Basketball Team
    Kenny AndersonGeorgia Tech1990-1991Rego Park, N.Y.
    Shane BattierDuke1998-2001 Birmingham, Mich.
    Len BiasMaryland1983-1986Landover, Md.
    Elton BrandDuke1998-1999Peekskill, N.Y.
    Tom BurlesonNC State1971-1974Newland, N.C.
    Len ChappellWake Forest1960-1962Portage, Pa.
    Randolph ChildressWake Forest1991, 93-95Clinton, Md.
    Billy CunninghamUNC1963-1965Brooklyn, N.Y.
    Brad DaughertyUNC1983-1986Black Mountain, N.C.
    Charlie DavisWake Forest1969-1971New York, N.Y.
    Walter DavisUNC1974-1977Pineville, N.C.
    Johnny DawkinsDuke1983-1986Washington, D.C.
    Juan DixonMaryland1999-2002Baltimore, Md.
    Tim DuncanWake Forest1994-1997St. Croix, Virgin Islands
    Len ElmoreMaryland1972-1974Springfield Gardens, NY
    Danny FerryDuke1986-1989Bowie, Md.
    Phil FordUNC1975-1978Rocky Mount, N.C.
    Mike GminskiDuke1977-1980Monroe, Conn.
    Horace GrantClemson1984-1987Sparta, Ga.
    Matt HarpringGeorgia Tech1995-1998Dunwoody, Ga.
    Dickie HemricWake Forest1952-1955Jonesville, N.C.
    Art HeymanDuke1961-1963Rockville Center, N.Y.
    Grant HillDuke1991-1994Reston, Va.
    Bobby HurleyDuke1990-1993Jersey City, N.J.
    Antawn JamisonUNC1996-1998Charlotte, N.C.
    Bobby JonesUNC1972-1974Charlotte, N.C.
    Michael JordanUNC1982-1984Wilmington, N.C.
    Albert KingMaryland1978-1981Brooklyn, N.Y.
    Christian LaettnerDuke1989-1992Angola, N.Y.
    Jeff LampVirginia1978-1981Louisville, Ky.
    John LucasMaryland1973-1976Durham, N.C.
    Tom McMillenMaryland1972-1974Mansfield, Pa.
    Larry MillerUNC1966-1968Catasauqua, Pa.
    Rodney MonroeNC State1988-1991Hagerstown, Md.
    Jeff MullinsDuke1962-1964Lexington, Ky.
    Barry ParkhillVirginia1971-1973State College, Pa.
    Sam PerkinsUNC1981-1984Latham, N.Y.
    Mark PriceGeorgia Tech1983-1986Enid, Okla.
    John RocheSouth Carolina1969-1971The Bronx, N.Y.
    Wayne RollinsClemson1974-1977Cordele, Ga.
    Lennie RosenbluthUNC1954-1957New York, N.Y.
    Ralph SampsonVirginia1980-1983Harrisonburg, Va.
    Charles ScottUNC1968-1970New York, N.Y.
    Dennis ScottGeorgia Tech1988-1990Reston, Va.
    Ron ShavlikNC State1954-1956Denver, Colo.
    Joe SmithMaryland1994-1995Norfolk, Va.
    David ThompsonNC State1973-1975Shelby, N.C.
    Buck WilliamsMaryland1979-1981Rocky Mount, N.C.
    Jason WilliamsDuke2000-2002Plainfield, N.J.
    James WorthyUNC1980-1982Gastonia, N.C.

    Clemson Selections
    Horace Grant, Clemson (1984-1987)
    ACC Player of the Year, Clemson's only ACC Player of the Year ever in basketball in 1986-87 ... The ACC's first "Triple Crown" winner, he led the ACC in scoring, field goal percentage and rebounding in 1986-87 (Tim Duncan is the only other ACC player in history to do that) ... Shot 65.6 percent from the field, third best in ACC history for a season and third in the nation in 1986-87 when he led the Tigers to a school record 24 wins ... First Clemson player to average over 20 points per game since Butch Zatezalo in 1969-70 ... Second-team All-American by AP, UPI and Sporting News his senior year, just the second Clemson player in history to be a second-team All-American ... Veteran of 14 years in the NBA, he has won three World Championship Rings ... first-round draft choice in 1987...still playing with the Orlando Magic

    Wayne "Tree" Rollins, Clemson (1974-1977)
    Third-team All-American for Clemson in 1976-77 according to Associated Press ... Three-time second-team All-ACC selection ... Clemson's career rebounding leader with 1311, he is fourth in ACC history ... Second ranked in ACC history in blocked shots with 450, first on a per game basis ... Only Clemson player to average a double-double four straight seasons ... Played 18 years in the the head coach of the Greenville Groove of the NBA Development League.

  • Top Stories