Four Tigers Named First-Team All-ACC

James Davis, Aaron Kelly, Barry Richardson and Chris McDuffie lead the way for the Tigers.

Georgia Tech placed eight players on The Associated Press All-Atlantic Coast Conference teams announced Monday.

Divisional winners Boston College and Virginia Tech each landed seven players on the first and second teams, while Clemson had a total six selections and Wake Forest had five. The Yellow Jackets had five players on the first team, while both the Hokies and Tigers had four first-team selections.

Virginia defensive end Chris Long was the only unanimous selection by the 73 voting members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Long led the league and ranked third nationally with 13½ sacks.

Two other players received 143 of a possible 146 voting points - Boston College quarterback Matt Ryan and Georgia Tech running back Tashard Choice. Ryan averages a league-best 329 yards per game, and Choice is the league's leading rusher and is the only player in the ACC averaging more than 100 yards per game.

Each of the 12 schools had at least one first-team selection except the three in the North Carolina triangle of Duke, North Carolina and North Carolina State. The Tar Heels had four second-teamers, while NC State had two and the Blue Devils landed one.

Yellow Jackets teammates joining Choice on the first team were offensive tackle Andrew Gardner, defensive tackle Vance Walker, punter Durant Brooks and kicker Travis Bell.

Clemson's first-teamers include running back James Davis, receiver Aaron Kelly, offensive tackle Barry Richardson and guard Chris McDuffie. Three Hokie defenders made the first team - defensive end Chris Ellis, linebacker Xavier Adibi and cornerback Victor "Macho" Harris - joining kick returner Eddie Royal.

Boston College players joining Ryan on the first team include tight end Ryan Purvis and safety Jamie Silva. The Atlantic Division champion Eagles play Virginia Tech of the Coastal Division on Saturday in Jacksonville, Fla., for a berth in the Orange Bowl.

Kenneth Moore, who averages a league-best 7.25 receptions per game, is one of three players from Wake Forest to make the first team, joining center Steve Justice and cornerback Alphonso Smith, who led the ACC with eight interceptions.

Virginia guard Branden Albert rounded out the rest of the first-team offense. The first-team defense also included defensive tackle Dre Moore and linebacker Erin Henderson, Florida State linebacker Geno Hayes and Miami safety Kenny Phillips.

QB-Matt Ryan, Boston College (143)
RB-Tashard Choice, Georgia Tech (143)
RB-James Davis, Clemson (131)
WR-Aaron Kelly, Clemson (128)
WR-Kenneth Moore, Wake Forest (117)
TE-Ryan Purvis, Boston College (109)
OT-Barry Richardson, Clemson (120)
OT-Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech (85)
OG-Branden Albert, Virginia (105)
OG-Chris McDuffie, Clemson (100)
C-Steve Justice, Wake Forest (122)

QB-Cullen Harper, Clemson (70)
RB-Andre Callender, Boston College (72)
RB-Josh Adams, Wake Forest (51)
WR-Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina (75)
WR-Eron Riley, Duke (38)
TE-Tom Santi, Virginia (60)
OT-Duane Brown, Virginia Tech (79)
OT-Gosder Cherilus, Boston College (64)
OG-Andrew Crummey, Maryland (86)
OG-Rodney Hudson, Florida State and Derrick Morse, Miami (51)
C-Kevin Tuminello, Georgia Tech (65)

DE-Chris Long, Virginia, Sr. (146)*
DE-Chris Ellis, Virginia Tech (70)
DT-Vance Walker, Georgia Tech (93)
DT-Dre Moore, Maryland (51)
LB-Erin Henderson, Maryland (111)
LB-Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech (104)
LB-Geno Hayes, Florida State (69)
CB-Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest (127)
CB-Victor Harris, Virginia Tech (81)
S-Jamie Silva, Boston College (130)
S-Kenny Phillips, Miami (85)

DE-Hilee Taylor, North Carolina (66)
DE-Darrell Robertson, Georgia Tech (36)
DT-Barry Booker, Virginia Tech (50)
DT-Kentwan Balmer, North Carolina (42)
LB-Durell Mapp, North Carolina (64)
LB-Aaron Curry, Wake Forest (54)
LB-Jo-Lonn Dunbar, Boston College, and Phillip Weaver, Georgia Tech (48)
CB-DeJuan Tribble, Boston College (77)
CB-Brandon Flowers, Virginia Tech (73)
S-Michael Hamlin, Clemson (49)
S-DaJuan Morgan, N.C. State (48)

K-Travis Bell, Georgia Tech (64)
P-Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech (126)
KR-PR-Eddie Royal, Virginia Tech (74)

K-Gary Cismesia, Florida State (40)
P-Ryan Weigand, Virginia (32)
KR-PR-Darrell Blackman, N.C. State (44) Top Stories