Football award winners announced

Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney announced award winners for the 2009 football season at the team's awards banquet on Saturday evening.

The Tigers concluded the season with a 9-5 record, Atlantic Division Champions of the Atlantic Coast Conference, and as the No. 24 ranked team in the nation by Associated Press.

C.J. Spiller brought home the most hardware as he was named the Solid Rock Award winner for the running backs, was the team's MVP of the special teams, and was named the team's MVP on offense. He was also presented with a special Award, the John Heisman Award. The John Heisman Award is presented to a Clemson football player who is named a unanimous first-team All-American.

Spiller was named the Most Valuable Player of the Atlantic Coast Conference, the first Clemson player to win that award since 1986. He was a first-team All-American by every service. He was the only player in the nation to score at least one touchdown in every one of his team's games and he ranked fourth in the nation in all-purpose running (2588 yards) and fifth in total touchdowns with 21.

DeAndre McDaniel was named the MVP of the defense. McDaniel was a first-team All-American according to the Football Writers Association and a first-team All-ACC selection. He had eight interceptions to tie a Clemson record, and finished fourth on the team in tackles with 102. He became the first player in Clemson history with eight interceptions and at least 100 tackles in the same year.

Solid Rock Award—Most solid, consistent, and dependable player by position:
QB—Kyle Parker
RB—C.J. Spiller
WR—Jacoby Ford
TE—Michael Palmer
OL—Thomas Austin

Hustle Award—Player who gave consistent effort throughout the year and served as an inspiration to his teammates:
Terrance Ashe

12th Man Award—Contributed the most off the bench:
Jamie Harper and Andre Ellington

Rookie of the Year:
Kyle Parker and Dalton Freeman

Iron Man Award—Dependable player who played through injury:
Chad Diehl

Special Teams Player of the Year:
C.J. Spiller

Scout Team Player of the Year:
Tajh Boyd and Caleb Simmons

Most Valuable Player:
C.J. Spiller

Solid Rock Award:
DB—Marcus Gilchrist
DT—Jarvis Jenkins
DE—Kevin Alexander
LB—Kavell Conner

Hustle Award:
Chris Chancellor and Crezdon Butler

12th Man Award:
Andre Branch

Iron Man Award:
Ricky Sapp

Rookie of the Year Award:
Mallaciah Goodman and Rashard Hall

Special Teams Player of the Year:
Kevin Alexander

Scout Team Player of the Year: Tyler Shatley and Spencer Shuey

Specialist of the Year:
Michael Wade

Defensive MVP:
DeAndre McDaniel

Academic Awards: Highest GPA (Freshmen) Matt Skinner
Highest GPA (Sophomores) Dawson Zimmerman
Highest GPA (juniors) Byron Clear
Highest GPA (Seniors) Michael Clear
Highest GPA (Team) Caleb Simmons

Vickery Hall Award to individuals that exemplify the values of Vickery Hall:
Ronald Watson, DeAndre McDaniel, Michael Palmer, Jaron Brown

Weight Room Awards
Strength All-Americans:
Offense: Thomas Austin
Defense: Kevin Alexander

Dedication Award:
Offense: Chad Diehl
Defense: Kavell Conner

Permanent Captains Awards:
Offense: Michael Palmer, Thomas Austin, C.J. Spiller
Defense: Chris Chancellor, Ricky Sapp, Kavell Conner Top Stories