Rams Open Spring Football Drills

Fort Collins - Facing the most challenging schedule in school history and with 15 returning starters, Colorado State University opens spring football practice Saturday with a 10 a.m. workout scheduled on the practice fields south of Moby Arena.

Fort Collins - Facing the most challenging schedule in school history and with 15 returning starters, Colorado State University opens spring football practice Saturday with a 10 a.m. workout scheduled on the practice fields south of Moby Arena.

Twelfth-year coach Sonny Lubick has guided the Rams to eight bowl games since 1994, including five in a row, and six conference titles.

The veteran coach will need to fill eight defensive starting positions and four on offense including quarterback, where two-time Mountain West Conference player of the year Bradlee Van Pelt had started for three seasons.

Junior Justin Holland, the state's schoolboy passing record-holder, figures to be Van Pelt's heir apparent. He started the team's San Francisco Bowl game with Boston College last December.

"We have some good players, but they are young," said Lubick. "They have worked hard during the offseason and they are eager. Now we have to go out and go to work."

That work begins Saturday, the first of 15 workouts allowed under NCAA guidelines. The spring drills conclude with an intrasquad spring game at Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium April 24.

2004 Spring Calendar: Mar. 28 Sun. 11:00-1:30 p.m. Spring Practice #2 Practice Fields

Mar. 31 Wed. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #3 Practice Fields

April 2 Fri. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #4 Practice Fields

April 3 Sat. 12:10-2:30 p.m. Spring Practice #5 Practice Fields

April 6 Tue. 3:30-5:45 pm. Spring Practice #6 Practice Fields

April 7 Wed. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #7 Practice Fields

April 9 Fri. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #8 Practice Fields

April 13 Tue. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #9 Practice Fields

April 14 Wed. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #10 Practice Fields

April 16 Fri. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #11 Practice Fields

April 17 Sat. 12:10-2:30 p.m. Spring Practice #12 Practice Fields

April 20 Tue. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #13 Practice Fields

April 23 Fri. 3:30-5:45 p.m. Spring Practice #14 Practice Fields

April 24 Sat. TBA Spring Game Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium


Inside the Rams Top Stories