Rams Honored By MWC

Twenty-two Colorado State University football players - including three players named on the first-team - where honored Wednesday in voting by the Mountain West Conference football coaches.

Conference officials released the official All-MWC squad today, selected by the league's eight head coaches. A day ago, media members who cover the MWC announced their all conference selections.

Offensive lineman David Shohet, who has started 35 consecutive games for the Rams, along with return specialist Pete Rebstock, and punter Joey Huber were all named to the first team.

Rebstock, also one of the nation's top receivers, ranks among the NCAA and league leaders in punt and kickoff returns. Huber was a finalist for the Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation's top punter, in 2001. He averaged 43.0 yards per punt, and knocked out 16 punts inside opponents' 20-yard line.

Colorado State had seven players named top the second team and 12 named honorable mention.

Named to the second team were tight end Jose Ochoa, offensive lineman Broc Finlayson, return specialist Dexter Wynn, linebackers Eric Pauly and Drew Wood, and defensive backs Jason and Justin Gallimore.

Ochoa tied for fourth on the team with 13 receptions. Finlayson started every game the past two seasons, and Wynn joins Rebstock among the nation's punt and return leaders. Jason and Justin Gallimore, the only set of identical twins playing NCAA Division IA in 2001, are among the league's tackles and interceptions leaders.

Named honorable mention on the team were: wide receiver and return specialist Dallas Davis, tight end Joel Dreessen, defnsive linemen Geoff Graue, Peter Hogan, and Lucas Smith, offensive linemen Broderick Lancaster and Erik Pears, kicker Kent Naughton, defensive back Aaron Sprague, and quarterback Bradlee Van Pelt. Rebstock was named honorable mention wide receiver, and Wynn was named honorable mention in the secondary.

Inside the Rams Top Stories