McChesney Given Three Awards at Team Banquet

Senior defensive lineman <!--Default NodeId For Matt McChesney is 1223485,2004--><A HREF=[PlayerNode:1223485]>Matt McChesney</A> took home three awards, while senior running back <!--Default NodeId For Bobby Purify is 1223510,2004--><A HREF=[PlayerNode:1223510]>Bobby Purify</A> was given the team MVP award at Sunday's team banquet. Inside, the list of team awards.

Purify was named the Buffs' team MVP, as well as the team's outstanding offensive player, at CU's annual senior banquet Sunday. Purify played through two significant shoulder injuries, as well as other smaller ailments, and rushed for 1,017 yards this season. He finished his career with 3,016 total rushing yards, third on the school chart behind Eric Bieniemy (3,940) and Rashaan Salaam (3,057). Purify was the first player in school history to record at least 2,500 yards rushing and 500 yards receiving (508) in a career.

McChesney garnered three awards, including the Dave Jones Award as the team's most outstanding defensive player, Best Interview, and the Derek Singleton Award (spirit, dedication, enthusiasm). McChesney had 59 tackles (43 solo), with a team-high seven quarterback sacks and nine hurries, along with 11 third down stops. And like Purify, he overcame several injuries, mainly recurring ankle sprains, to start every game.

Two awards were given to groups: The Hang Tough Award for overcoming the most adversity went to the senior class, while The Fugitive Award, symbolizing an "I Don't Care" attitude for the benefit of the team was awarded to the entire team.

Ten players recorded a winning performance and/or productivity grade by the coaches in at least eight games this season and were rewarded with CU's prestigious Victory Club award. Those honored were PK Mason Crosby, OG Brian Daniels, DE James Garee, WR Nick Holz (holder), OLB Brian Iwuh, DT Vaka Manupuna, DT Matt McChesney, CB Lorenzo Sims, P John Torp and VB Lawrence Vickers.

The complete list of CU award winners announced Sunday, selected by the coaching staff unless otherwise indicated:

Lee Willard Award (outstanding freshman): ILB Jordon Dizon
Hang Tough Award (overcame the most adversity): The Senior Class
Tyronee "Tiger" Bussey Award (perseverance over adversity, injury and/or illness): TE Jesse Wallace
Best Interview (selected by team beat media): DT Matt McChesney
Dean Jacob Van Ek Award (academic excellence): PK J.T. Eberly
Bill McCartney Award (special teams achievement): PK Mason Crosby
Regiment Award (greatest contribution with least recognition): OT Sam Wilder
Derek Singleton Award (spirit, dedication, enthusiasm): DT Matt McChesney
The Fugitive Award (symbolizing "I Don't Care" attitude for benefit of team): Entire Team
Tom McMahon Award (dedication and work ethic): VB Lawrence Vickers
Dave Jones Award (outstanding defensive player): DT Matt McChesney
John Mack Award (outstanding offensive player): TB Bobby Purify
Zack Jordan Award (most valuable player, selected by teammates): TB Bobby Purify

BuffStampede Top Stories